A Life Stirred

Oh for the love of books!

on September 26, 2013

If you’ve ever spent any time with toddlers, you know that some of them take their literary exposure very seriously.  They’ll bring you book after book (or bring you the same book over and over), plop down in your lap, and expect yet another rousing rendition of Goodnight Moon. ..which is a book for which the term “rousing” seems like a bit of an overstatement, even in the best of circumstances (and it’s definitely not “rousing” on the 2,527th time through).

This was cute when I worked in the church nursery and only had to read for limited amount of time.  <Insert desperate plea for nursery volunteers…go sign up now!>

But now I have my very own toddler.  And I love her a lot.  And she loves books a lot.  So I spend a lot of time reading books to her.  And even though we have shelves of books, she tends to gravitate towards the same books…over and over and over and over.

Gravity affects her book selection more than it affects her hair.  (Like how I subtly snuck in an adorable picture of Joanna?)

Gravity affects her book selection more than it affects her hair. (Like how I subtly snuck in an adorable picture of Joanna?)

So, I read them to her…over and over and over and over.

However, in order to keep myself interested (it’s a challenge, trust me), I find myself thinking up funny commentary.  Of course, my 19 month old could really care less about my hysterical comments.  She just wants to know if we’re going to have a successful bear hunt.  You, however, are going to get a glimpse into my mind.

I hope you enjoy.  Humor is one of the things that stir my affections for the Lord, so this is more than just a random, silly post (though it is that too).  I mean, seriously, how cool is it that God gave us a sense of humor?!  And that laughter and smiles are universal throughout the world?!  So awesome.

Here’s we go.  We’ll start with a classic: The Very Hungry Catepillar by Eric Carle.  A timeless tale of a young caterpillar who was very hungry.

This page always makes me hungry.  Seriously, Eric Carle?!  Cake?  Ice cream?  Cupcakes?  That’s just not very nice.

This page always makes me hungry. Seriously, Eric Carle?!  Why do you hate me? Cake? Ice cream? Cupcakes? That’s just not very nice.

I’m pretty sure this page is a shameless plug for vegetables.  One green leaf took away the stomachache?  Suuuure, it did…

I’m pretty sure this page is a shameless plug for vegetables. One green leaf took away the stomachache? Suuuure, it did…

Next up, We’re Going on a Bear Hunt by Helen Oxenbury.  Once I figured out how to make the snowstorm noise (“Hoooooo Woooooo.  Hooooo Woooo”), this book has been pretty fun.

I’m pretty sure the dad is thinking about all the laundry that’s going to be created by going through the “thick, oozy mud”.

I’m pretty sure the dad is thinking about all the laundry that’s going to be created by going through the “thick, oozy mud”.

Is it just me or does the bear look a little dejected?  Maybe he didn’t want to eat the family.  Maybe he was just looking for a friend, and they all ran away.  Now that’s a blow to the ego.

Is it just me or does the bear look a little dejected? Maybe he didn’t want to eat the family. Maybe he was just looking for a friend, and they all ran away. Now that’s a blow to the ego.

Now I’ve saved the best for last, Giggle Giggle Quack by Doreen Cronin.  This is Joanna’s all-time favorite!  She loves Duck more than she loves me (that may not be true…but she loves Duck a lot).  And why not?  He’s pretty fantastic.

How can you not love a guy (duck?) who takes time to sharpen his pencil?   Seriously, though, I love this picture.  Because if you did choose to sharpen a pencil while holding it in your mouth, you would vibrate all around.

How can you not love a guy (duck?) who takes time to sharpen his pencil? Seriously, though, I love this picture. Because if you did choose to sharpen a pencil while holding it in your mouth, you would vibrate all around. (Also, Bob looks like my dad…)

So, for all you moms out there, who are reading the same books over and over, I highly recommend finding things in the book that make you smile.  It makes it a lot more enjoyable.  Although, instilling a love of reading in your toddler is pretty awesome too.

4 responses to “Oh for the love of books!

  1. rmfowler90 says:

    Thanks for ending my day with a chuckle. I can relate to this.

  2. Allie says:

    Seriously… You picked 2 of my all time favorite books that I grew up on! (Eric Carle, and Helen Oxenbury.) 🙂

  3. geanieroake says:

    You’re so lucky that your toddler loves books. Mine are all grown now, and I miss reading to them. My twenty somethings refuse to cuddle on my lap anymore. Such wonderful children’s books available now, keep reading, and writing too.

  4. […] long time ago, I wrote a post about the hilarity that happens in my head when I read books to Joanna.  I meant to do another post […]

Leave a Reply

