A Life Stirred

A Case for Myers-Brigg, Part 1

on October 10, 2013

If you’ve been my friend for any length of time, I’ve probably made you take the Myers-Brigg Personality test.  I’m a little bit obsessed.

See?  I made my friend take the test in the parking lot and took pictures of her.  Well, she couldn’t handle all the noise in the car, so she sat in the parking lot.  (The best part?  When she came to the question “You prefer to isolate yourself from outside noises.”)

See? I made my friend take the test in the parking lot and took pictures of her. Well, she couldn’t handle all the noise in the car, so she sat in the parking lot. (The best part? When she came to the question “You prefer to isolate yourself from outside noises.”)

I know there are a lot of personality tests out there.  You can be phlegmatic (umm, ewww!) or choleric (yeah, who wants to be a crabby baby?!).  You can be a Golden Retriever (“Toss that ball!  I’ll go get it!  I promise!”) or an Otter (oh…well, otters are pretty cool).  And all these personality tests are just fine…I guess.

But the Myers-Brigg test is awesome.  Yes, that’s my professional opinion.

Each Myers-Brigg type has four letters (with each letter having 2 choices).  This makes for 16 different types, and within each of those types, there are spectrums and variations that make each person truly unique (that makes my I-hate-to-be-put-in-a-box friends happy).   And while the Myers-Brigg test isn’t Christian, I can’t help but to see the beauty in how we were all designed!

Myers-Brigg stirs my affections towards the Lord.  I love using it to understand my friends better.  I love using it to have discussions about how we process and interact and think.  I love seeing how as we get to know the Lord better and better, He refines us so that we’re more balanced in all our letters.  <Happy sigh>

Ideally, I’d want to go out for coffee and talk with you about how God designed you and take the test with you and process the results with you for a few hours.  BUT that’s not really feasible (although, if you’re interested, I’d never say no to a Myers-Brigg Coffee Date).

How about we just pretend we’re on a Myers-Brigg Coffee Date?

How about we just pretend we’re on a Myers-Brigg Coffee Date?

I’m not even sure I can do my geeked-up excitement justice through one blog post.  So, I’m gonna just leave ‘ya hanging.  You’ll have to come back to find out more about the awesome-ness that is Myers-Brigg.  Again, my professional opinion.

(If you’re just dying to take the test now, here’s a link.  I recommend googling your results to read more about your type.  I also recommend inviting me out for coffee so we can discuss your results together.  I don’t want to miss out on any of the fun.)

2 responses to “A Case for Myers-Brigg, Part 1

  1. rmfowler90 says:

    Maybe you should bring it to M2C group . . . I bet it could help us all figure some of our hang ups in regards to food too . . . based on our personalities. It could be an interesting thing to do in between studies. Just a random thought.

  2. mel says:

    ISTJ and of course my husband is the exact opposite!!

Leave a Reply

