A Life Stirred

Isn’t it ironic?

on October 17, 2013

Remember Alanis Morissette’s hit song, “Isn’t it ironic”?  Remember how nothing in that song was actually ironic?  Did that bother anyone else?

But I’m not here to critique Alanis Morissette’s hit song (though I guess I just did a little).

Remember how I wrote about how my girls are easy?  They still are, but we have just had (are still having) a really rough week.  A stomach  bug for Joanna that just won’t die has made this week so hard.  I’m tired, worn-out, and feeling mildly nauseous all the time (because when  someone else has a stomach bug, I become fairly convinced I must have one too).  So yeah…not  so easy this week.

Remember how I wrote about mommy guilt?  Specifically about screen time?  Yeah, Jo and I have watched Cars no less than 4 times in the last 3 days.  I’m starting to memorize it.  Right now, she’s watching What’s in the Bible? (a show by Veggie Tale’s Phil Viscar…it’s really good.  I’m learning a lot about the Bible!).  And Claire is twisting all around on the couch so that she can watch too (gaah!  Screen time for a 3 month old!  I feel the guilt coming on).

Yeah…just a little ironic (turns out it hard to figure out what exactly irony is).

But I’m releasing my desire to have it all together, and I’m working on simply getting through this season.  I’m trusting that one week of difficulties and more than normal amounts of screen time is NOT going to mess up my girls.  I’m trusting the Lord for His strength in this week.

One response to “Isn’t it ironic?

  1. Marcie says:

    You are comforting and cuddling your sick little girl . . . that certainly will not mess her up. Keep working on putting FALSE guilt aside. You love your girls and you are there for them. . . those are the most important things.

Leave a Reply

