A Life Stirred

I just can’t tell.

on October 29, 2013

There are some people who are really good at recognizing genetic similarities within a family.  They can tell you that the baby has Daddy’s nose, that the toddler has Mommy’s eyes, and that the sisters share the same smile.

I am not one of those people.  Even with my own girls!  I can’t tell you who they look like.  I can’t even tell if they look similar to each other!  I mean, other than the cheeks.  They both have big cheeks…so there’s that.

Sometimes I think people are just making things up as far as similarities go.  Because sometimes people say they look identical.  Sometimes people say they look completely different.  And sometimes the Walmart check-out lady tells me that she can tell they got their big cheeks from me.  Note to the Walmart check-out lady:  don’t tell a grown woman she has big cheeks.  It’s not a compliment.

So, it’s your turn.  Here are some pictures of my girls at the various month-markers.  Do you think they look the same?  Or different?

Joanna (left) and Claire (right) at one month Apparently, it's really exhausting to be one month old.

Joanna (left) and Claire (right) at one month.
Apparently, it’s really exhausting to be one month old.

Joanna (left) and Claire (right) at two months. Hello, cheeks!

Joanna and Claire at two months old.
Hello, cheeks!

Joanna and Claire at 3 months. Bald and cute!

Joanna and Claire at 3 months old.
I love my smiley girls.

Joanna and Claire at 4 months old. Man, I thought Joanna was bald, but Claire is really lacking in the hair department.

Joanna and Claire at 4 months old.
Man, I thought Joanna was bald, but Claire is really lacking in the hair department.

So what do you think?  I think they look different, but then again, what do I know?!

And a bonus picture courtesy of my dear friend and excellent photographer, Liz…

Joanna (top) and Claire (bottom) at one week old. Aaaah!  Cuteness overload!

Joanna (top) and Claire (bottom) at one week old.
Aaaah! Cuteness overload!

Leave a Reply

