A Life Stirred

On resting

on November 20, 2013

So, I follow a bunch of blogs.  Mostly Christian Mom blogs…and adoption mom blogs…and mom mom blogs…or the Doghouse Diaries.  I love it when those blogs are updated regularly.  I like when feedly tells me there’s a new post at one of my favorite blogs.  But sometimes those blogs go quiet.  And eventually, the blogger will return, saying something like, “I’m sorry it’s been so quiet here lately.  Life has been crazy.  And I haven’t had time to think…let alone write any of those thoughts out.”  And I get that. 

But now I really get that.  Life has been crazy.  And I haven’t had time to think…let alone write any of those thoughts out.  And I missed it.

It’s not even been a particularly crazy kind of crazy.  Mostly just ordinary life crazy (with a little bit of extra crazy thrown in here and there).  And I always think it’s gotta slow down soon, right?  An easier, more restful season has got to be on it’s way.  We’re just one good to-do list away from some rest, right?!

Maybe not.  I’m starting to think that maybe…just maybe…life is always crazy, and we have to be intentional to carve out rest.  I mean, God did command us to take a Sabbath day, a day of rest.  Did He have to command it because it wouldn’t happen naturally?  And how often do we actually obey that command?  I know that I don’t set aside an intentional time of rest.  <gulp>

I’m starting to think that life is on an ever-increasing path of hectic-ness.  I mean, think about it.  Did you ever really appreciate how easy it was to be a kid?  Sure, life had a huge learning curve (“What is this?!  The alphabet?!  I have to learn that?”).  But someone else took care of everything else for you–shelter, food, clothing, major decisions, repairs around the house, transportation, and on and on.  There was even a season when you got to take a daily nap while someone else made dinner and picked up your toys!!  I’m pretty sure I didn’t appreciate that like I should’ve.

Here's someone who has no problem taking time to rest.

Here’s someone who has no problem taking time to rest.

So, as Thanksgiving and Christmas approach and as I enter one of the craziest seasons of the year, I want to be intentional to rest.  I want to take a Sabbath.  I want to be still and know (Psalm 46:10).   I don’t just want to listen to Christmas carols as I tackle a monster to-do list day after day.  I want to do what they say:  Let every heart prepare Him room.  O come let us adore Him.  The weary world rejoices!  In the meadow we can build a snowman.

Who’s with me?

Leave a Reply

