A Life Stirred

Sleeping Like a Baby

on December 1, 2013

What’s up with that phrase?  Seriously. 

Sleeping like a baby.  I imagine a sweet, snuggly baby, wrapped in a blanket and smelling clean.  I imagine pink, chubby cheeks that just beg to be kissed.  I imagine hours and hours of undisturbed, conked-out sleep.  Sleeping like a baby.  <happy sigh>

Sleeping like a baby.  Yes, like this!

Sleeping like a baby. Yes, like this!

Sleeping like a baby.  I do not imagine half hour catnaps.  I do not imagine lots and lots of crying and squirming (thankyouverymuch, baby gas).  I do not imagine a car seat as the only guaranteed location for any quality sleep.  Sleeping like a baby.  HA!  <tired sigh>

Claire’s been going through a phase.  At least I hope it’s a phase.  I’m pretty sure it’s a phase.  I mean, you don’t often see a high schooler sleeping in their car seat, right?  Right?!!

Time will tell if Claire is the first high school kid to require a car seat for sleep.

Time will tell if Claire is the first high school kid to require a car seat for sleep.  That’ll make for some interesting sleepovers.

Regardless, it’s a rough phase.  I just can’t get Claire to sleep on a convenient schedule.  Joanna was too good to me.  She just kind of fell into a nap schedule.  I really didn’t have to do much.  It’s harder this time.  And I’m tireder. (See?  That’s not even a word.  That’s how tired I am!)  So there’s that.

So in my world lately, there’s been a lot of rocking.  A lot of fighting being rocked.  A lot of eating (on Claire’s part).  A lot of eating on my part too, if I’m honest.  A lot of wondering what I should do about my non-sleeping baby.  A lot of wishing I could just get a break!  A lot of realizing that maybe being a mom means that you don’t get a break.

This week, my world needs more thankfulness.  I need to stop stressing about Claire’s sleep patterns.  She will sleep when she sleeps.  And I’m probably not messing her up for life.  I mean, you don’t often see a 16 year old who needs to be bounced to sleep.  I need to enjoy my girls and their little-ness right now (no-naps and tantrums and all).  I need less gigantic to-do lists, and more in-the-moment-ness.

This week, I need more of the Lord.  I need to look to Him for strength and patience and energy.  I have not been making that a priority lately.  And I think that accounts for so much of my frustration and exhaustion and irritation.  Lord, help me seek You first this week.  In this season of Advent, Lord, give me anticipation for Your coming.

So, here’s hoping my week looks more like this…

A sleeping baby and the Word.  Yes, please.

A sleeping baby and the Word. Yes, please.

Leave a Reply

