A Life Stirred

Christmas-y Things

on December 4, 2013

So I took Claire to the doctor’s yesterday.  Her eye was gross and goopy (again).  [Sidenote:  I really think they should give punch cards at the doctor’s.  You know, after 5 appointments, get your 6th visit for free.]  Turns out she has an ear infection…which I was oddly happy about.  Maybe, maybe this explains the crummy sleep thing?  We’ll see in a few days.

With Christmas a mere 21 days away, a here’s-how-we-celebrate-Christmas-and-keep-it-simple-and-about-Jesus post is in order (according to all the mommy blogs I read).  Buuuuut, why reinvent the wheel?  I thought I’d just share some of the things I’ve come across that have sparked my thoughts lately.

A baby under the tree?  Cutest present ever!

A baby under the tree? Cutest present ever!

Let’s start off with a few good blog-y reads:

“Hello from the Nato’s”–Jami blogs about how her family had a very ungrateful attitude at Christmas a few years ago, and it spurred them to do Christmas differently.   This is a great read if you feel like Christmas needs to be different this year!

And also from Jami, a few free Christmas printables.  And who doesn’t love a few free printables.

And then if Jami isn’t radical enough, Jen Hatmaker has you covered.  Her family is doing away with Santa and crazy-gift giving.  But don’t worry, she won’t judge you if you still love Santa.  I’m intrigued by that idea.  We’re not quite at that point, but as she says, it’s “easier to do right the first time rather than try to undo later.”  So maybe we should come up with a plan now while the kiddos are young.

Looking for an advent sermon series?

I really enjoyed Matt Chandler’s 2012 Advent Series.  I’m sure this year’s will be good too.

She Reads Truth is doing a series on Emmanuel.  I’m only 3 days in, but it’s good!

Or maybe you  just want to watch a YouTube video that’ll make you smile?

Then check these out:

Straight No Chaser’s 12 Days of Christmas.  I laugh every.single.time.

And this awesome version of Hallelujah is absolutely worth the three minutes.

Enjoy!

(And feel free to suggest other good blog reads, sermon series, or videos.  I love finding new, festive things!)

One response to “Christmas-y Things

Leave a Reply

