A Life Stirred

The Christmas Crazies

on December 5, 2013

There’s just something about this month that makes us all want to be festive.  All the time.  Cookies, crafts, ugly sweater parties, Yankee Swaps, TV specials, trees, pageants, light parades, concerts…and on and on and on.

A cookie decorating day from a few years ago.  Christmas crazy alright!

A cookie decorating day from a few years ago. Christmas crazy alright!

And all those things are fun…and not bad in and of themselves.  But we all know that something is missing in our Christmas festivities.  Something is off.  And we feel it.

But what can you do?  How can it change?  How do we get back to the heart of Christmas?!   How do you say “no” to things that are good and enjoyable?  Because there’s nothing wrong with just one more Christmas party.  But when it’s your 12th Christmas party of the month, and it’s only December 6th, it might be good to say no.  Hard.  But good.

And I’m not expert.  (Hope you weren’t expect answers to those rhetorical questions up there.)  In fact, I actually stink at saying no.  But here’s the ironic part of this Christmas season for me….

I’m not overwhelmed.  Not because I have it all figured out, but because I haven’t been asked/invited to many events.  And the ugly part of my heart feels jealous and left-out.  I talk to friends who are stressed out and just can’t add anything else to their days and who are lamenting that they’re so frustrated with the busyness.  And I get jealous.  That 13 year old girl in my mind rears her ugly head and I start to feel like maybe no body likes me.  Why aren’t I overwhelmed with Christmas events?  If I were more popular, I’d have too much on my plate too!!  Ugly, right?

So, even with not much on my plate, my heart is still out of whack.  My focus is still oh-so-wrong this Christmas season.  I’m missing the point too!  Just as much as someone who has completely overloaded their days.

Lord, help me to remember Your son this Christmas.  Teach me to make Him the center of my days and, more importantly, my heart!  And help me to be thankful for the simple schedule I’ve had “forced” upon me.

PS  I read this article a few days ago.  So good.  Inspired me to make a point to do things with my girls.

Hot chocolate and a candy cane after sledding.  Simple.  Fun.  Sticky.

Hot chocolate and a candy cane after sledding. Simple. Fun. Sticky.

Leave a Reply

