A Life Stirred

What? 2014 already?!

on January 2, 2014

I think I need a vacation from my vacation.  Can I get an amen?

We just got back from a 10 day gigantic, whirlwind Christmas tour of Pennsylvania and New Jersey.  The girls got to see all their grandparents, 3 great-grandparents, 4 aunts and uncles, 2 cousins, 3 first cousins once removed (one by marriage, but I’m counting her), 2 second cousins, and a partridge in a pear tree (well, not really).  Oh, and we threw in a few visits with some high school friends for good measure.  Sidenote:  There’s nothing like lining up all the toddlers and babies (with one MIA due to naptime and one on the way) on a couch to make you realize you’re really a grown-up.

We’ve been doing a Christmas get-together of some sort for 14 years!  It used to be a sleep-over, and our parents had to drop us off and pick us up.  Whoa, Time.

We’ve been doing a Christmas get-together of some sort for 14 years! It used to be a sleep-over, and our parents had to drop us off and pick us up. Whoa, Time.

The trip also involved 3.5 Christmases, an over-stimulated toddler, a few melt-downs (and not just from Joanna), a couple of colds, 4 days of traveling (in snow one way and rain on the way back…not cool), a broken-down car, a tow-truck ride where Claire screaming the entire time!, and coming home to this:

This was AFTER it warmed up 12 degree!  Just be glad I didn't take a picture of the frozen toilet bowl.

This was AFTER it warmed up 12 degrees! Just be glad I didn’t take a picture of the frozen toilet bowl.

It was a lot to do in 10 days.  And I’m fairly certain we could all use a few more days of vacation.  But we’re back and trying to settle back into a normal routine.  Joanna is coming off the inevitable spoilage that defined her last 10 days, and with Daddy back at work, I’m sure that transition will be delightful (or terrible…we’ll see).

“Whaaat?  You mean I don't get to a pile of new toys every day?  And where are all my adoring fans to enjoy my every move?”

“Whaaat? You mean I don’t get a pile of new toys every day? And where are all my adoring fans to enjoy my every move?”

But the trip was totally worth it.  Even if I do need a few more days to realize that it’s actually 2014 now.  In fact, that’s really throwing me off.  Apparently, that week and natural lull between Christmas and New Year’s is clutch for me.  Normally, I’m all over the goal-making, list-writing, dreaming-about-the-next-365-days aspect of a new year.  But I need an extension this year.

So, I’d like to announce my Word of the Year, accompanied by my verse for the year.  I’d like to lay out my 6-point plan for what I’m going to do differently this year.  But that’s not where I’m at right now.  And in fact, doing those things in my own strength will result in failure.   Rather, I want to wait on the Lord, seek His face, and ask Him what He has in store for me this year. And if He gives me a word or a verse or a 6-point plan, then my goal-making, list-writing, plan-loving side will probably do a happy dance.

But most of all, I want His voice to speak to my heart this year.  I want to drown out the excess noise in my life and make the Lord a priority.  Father, help me to make time to hear from you, and give me ears to hear and a soft heart.

One response to “What? 2014 already?!

  1. […] I mentioned here, this new year kind of snuck up me.  But in the course of the past 9 days, I’ve been mulling […]

Leave a Reply

