A Life Stirred

The Big 3-0

on January 5, 2014

My birthday is on Friday.  I’m turning 30.  (Yes, I will accept presents.  Thanks for asking.)

There’s something about a new year and a new decade that’s been making me extra introspective and life-analyze-y.

Thirty!  It blows my mind.  Mostly because I pretty much still feel 13 most of the time.

This is 12 year old me...with a cat on my head.  I don't know.

This is 12 year old me…with a cat on my head. I don’t know.

Thirty sounds so grown-up.  And I feel anything but grown-up!  Thirty sounds like maybe I should have some clue what I’m doing.  But I’m totally just winging it most of the time.  I’m starting to think, though, that most “grown-ups” are actually just faking it.  Maybe that’s the big secret of grown-up-hood.  We’re all just faking it.

I toyed with the idea of doing a 30-things-I’ve-learned-in-30-years post, but as I wrote it in my head, it was a little anticlimactic.  I spent a good portion of these past 30 years learning basic stuff like walking, talking, math, and reading…not really blog-worthy.

In thinking back over the last decade, my twenties, I was blown away by how many huglife-changes I’ve gone through.  In the past 10 years, I’ve graduated college, got my first “real” job and moved 12 hours away from my family, got my first boyfriend, married my first boyfriend (insert an “awwwww” here), had a baby, became a stay-at-home mom, adjusted to being a family of three, had another baby, and adjusted to being a family of 4.  And that’s just the “big” stuff .

It's been a good decade.

It’s been a good decade.

But as I thought and reflected (seriously, there’s been a lot of that lately), one thought kept coming back to me.  Despite all the change (I went from a college kid to a mom in 10 years!), the Lord has been constant through it all.  And by His grace, I’ve learned (ok, and I’m still learning) that my identity must be found in Him alone!  This is the lesson I’ve learned over and over and over in the past decade.  I learned that I can’t define myself by  a relationship or a job or a ministry or a kid or two.  I suspect I will keep learning this lesson throughout my life (can we say “slow-learner”?).

So as face a new decade, I pray that the Lord will continue to be my only source of identity.  I want God at the center of everything I do!  I pray that my 30’s will be a decade marked by a deep passion for the Lord and commitment to my relationship with Him.  I want to tackle this new decade, and I want to marvel at the changes that He’s made in me.

So, bring on my birthday week (and yes, I think we should celebrate it allllll week).  I’m ready for 30!

One response to “The Big 3-0

  1. Dawn says:

    🙂 yup….I am really still 14…

Leave a Reply

