A Life Stirred

Word.

on January 9, 2014

Guess what?!  I have a word of the year!

As I mentioned here, this new year kind of snuck up me.  But in the course of the past 9 days, I’ve been mulling over 2014, and God was faithful to show me where I should put my focus this year.  He gave me a word!  (And I know it was from God because it came to me in the morning before I got out of bed…and anyone who knows me knows I’m not really my sharpest in the morning.)

Just so we’re clear there’s nothing magical or weird about a word of the year.  It’s not like Pee-wee Herman’s word of the day where all the household items would scream like crazy when he said it (did that show creep out anyone else?).  For me, a word of the year is just a word that I feel like will be central in how I interact with God, friends, and family.  Just a way to direct my thoughts, really.  And I hope that by the end of 2014, I will have made some progress with regards to my word.

So…are you dying to know what word God gave me?  Are you sitting on the edge of your seat?!

LISTEN!

No, I’m not yelling at you.  That’s my word: listen.

I want to listen to the Lord’s still small voice…which means I’ll need to talk to Him (ie prayer) and then be quiet and wait and listen.

I want to listen to Ben.  This is the first time in two years that we aren’t expecting a new baby in the new year (as far as we know…I suppose it’s technically still possible to squeeze in a 2014 baby).  It’s time to put some focus back on our relationship…and to stop just surviving the baby-stage.  Listening will be first step.

I want to listen (and be present) to my girls…which means I’ll need to turn off the computer and put down the phone and engage with them.

I want to listen to my friends.  I want to truly take time to hear what they’re saying and what they’re not saying.  I want to encourage and follow-up where I can.  I want the Lord to be more central in my relationships.

So, it’s my prayer that 2014 will be a year of listening.

2 responses to “Word.

  1. Renee says:

    We’re half way done the year (crazy, right!?!). After you re read your post do you feel (haha, I mean think) that you’ve been obedient to what God has called you to do this year?

    • carleymorse says:

      I was just thinking about how the year is always half-over (or half-started, I guess). I think I’m growing in listening, but sometimes I still completely stink. Like I still tend to think about what awesome thing I’m going to say next in a conversation, and I know I could be waaaay more intentional about listening to God. So I guess there are still 182 days left in 2014 (yes, I did the math), so it’s not too late to keep growing, right?

Leave a Reply

