A Life Stirred

Ten on Ten: Birthday Edition

on January 10, 2014

I feel like every 10 on 10 I’ve done starts with a disclaimer.

Today’s disclaimer:  it’s my birthday!!  I thought that might result in a series of super exciting pictures and events…but it really ended up being a fairly ordinary day.  (Sidenote:  There ought to be a law about changing diapers and doing dishes on your birthday.)

A "cake-cake in hand."  Daddy makes a huge batch on the weekend, and she eats them cold, plain, and on-the-go for the rest of the week.

A “cake-cake in hand.” Daddy makes a huge batch on the weekend, and she eats them cold, plain, and on-the-go for the rest of the week.

The post office needs a drive-thru.  It's too cold to haul two kids up all those steps just for a book of stamps.

The post office needs a drive-thru. It’s too cold to haul two kids up all those steps just for a book of stamps.  I did it.  But I complained in my head.

Dollar Day at the Thrift Store!!  Happy birthday to me.  The girls didn't love it as much.  Joanna filled her diaper as a way to hurry me up.  Be glad this picture doesn't include smell.

Dollar Day at the Thrift Store!! Happy birthday to me. The girls didn’t love it as much. Joanna filled her diaper as a way to hurry me up. Just be glad this picture doesn’t include smell.

Lunch time!  Left-over oatmeal and peaches.  Classy.  (Seconds after this picture was taken she burnt her mouth...Mother of the Year, here I come!)

Lunch time! Left-over oatmeal and peaches. Classy. (Seconds after this picture was taken she burnt her mouth…Mother of the Year, here I come!)

Bonus picture #1:

Meanwhile on the floor, Claire chases her paci around.  I think she was just glad to be out of her carseat.

Meanwhile on the floor, Claire chases her paci around. I think she was just glad to be out of her carseat.

She looks asleep...she's not.  Because who needs sleep?!

She looks asleep, but she’s not. Because who needs sleep?!

Not even twinkle lights can make this scene less daunting.  Ugh, dishes.

Not even twinkle lights can make this scene less daunting. Ugh, dishes.

Do you see that?  Do you hear that?  Exactly.  The calm before the post-nap storm.

Do you see that? Do you hear that? Exactly. The calm before the post-nap storm.

A snack for Claire!  She was jazzed.

A snack for Claire! She was jazzed.

Bonus picture #2:

Joanna had serious snack envy.

Joanna had serious snack envy.

Birthday party prep!  With everyone happy and content, I got a shower.  Happy Birthday to me (again).

Birthday party prep! With everyone happy and content, I got a shower. Happy Birthday to me.

30 looks pretty good!

30 looks pretty good!

ten on ten button

2 responses to “Ten on Ten: Birthday Edition

  1. Jes says:

    Happy Birthday!!!!

Leave a Reply

