A Life Stirred

A Belated Christmas Post

on January 21, 2014

Before Christmas, random old people at Walmart (and a few friends) would exclaim, “Oooooh, Christmas is going to be so much fun this year!”  People were just so excited for us to have a fun Christmas.

And I was excited too.  But last year, I had these picturesque visions of what Joanna’s first Christmas would be like.  I had visions of that under-the-tree-Christmas-Eve picture.  I imagined her pulling new blocks out of her stocking.  I dreamed about her opening her presents and loving the wrapping paper and boxes instead.  I pretty much had the perfect Christmas planned out.  Except that Ben and Jo got the flu.  And I spent the day finding an open store so I could buy some medicine and fluids (thank you, Rite Aid, for being open).

At least I got an under-the-tree picture before the flu hit.   (Christmas 2012)

At least I got an under-the-tree picture before the flu hit. (Christmas 2012)

So this year, I held back on having an expectations.  Lest I be disappointed by reality.  And guess what?!

We had an awesome Christmas!!  It really was “so much fun.”  Just like everyone said it would be.

I think it really helped to have no expectations.  (Seriously, I think I could be a happier person if I didn’t have so many expectations about everything.)  But I did just want to share some of the awesomeness of this Christmas (I figure since we’re still within a month of Christmas it’s still permissible).

Christmas 2013 in 13 pictures:

Introducing Claire to my grandparents!  So fun.

Introducing Claire to my grandparents! So fun.

Sisters on Christmas Eve.

Sisters on Christmas Eve.

Our family after Christmas Eve service.  Some of us may have been grumpier than it appears here...

Our family after Christmas Eve service. Some of us may have been grumpier than it appears here…

Claire tried to wait up for Santa.  Missed him.

Claire tried to wait up for Santa. Missed him.

He left her a candy cane.

He left her a candy cane

Joanna pulled a cereal bar out of her stocking and wanted to eat it before she got anything else out.

Joanna pulled a cereal bar out of her stocking and wanted to eat it before she got anything else out.

Claire, on the otherhand, was pretty into opening things quickly.  (Not pictured:  Joanna opening presents like she was trying to save the wrapping paper.)

Claire, on the otherhand, was pretty into opening things quickly. (Not pictured: Joanna opening presents like she was trying to save the wrapping paper.)

Too much excitement for the baby.

Too much excitement for the baby.

4 generations of Morses!

4 generations of Morses!

Cousins!  Joanna loved "the boys."

Cousins! Joanna loved “the boys.”

Seriously.  She loved them.  I think Claire might've felt like a 3rd wheel.

Seriously. She loved them. I think Claire might’ve felt like a 3rd wheel.

Nap success!  Finally.  Not  pictured:  All the crying and fussing and fighting-sleep that happened prior to this picture.

Nap success! Finally. Not pictured: All the crying and fussing and fighting-sleep that happened prior to this picture.

After 2 days of traveling in yicky weather, we came home to a frozen house.  So we bundled up and watched a movie while Ben thawed our pipes.

After 2 days of traveling in yicky weather, we came home to a frozen house. So we bundled up and watched a movie while Ben thawed our pipes.

Disclaimer:  Our Christmas trip was great.  And it exceeded my expectations (or lack thereof).  But it wasn’t perfect.  I’m choosing to highlight the good (so don’t compare your real-life to my snapshot-of-real-life, ok?).  There was plenty of not-so-good too:  We had to travel in snow and rain, making for some tense road-tripping.  We got grumpy.  Some of us screamed in the car.  We lacked patience.  Some of us had a hard time taking naps.   But I’d rather not remember that, if you know what I mean.

One response to “A Belated Christmas Post

  1. […] down to Pennsylvania and New Jersey in order to visit all kinds of extended family.  It was an awesome trip, exceeding all my expectations (even though I was very careful not to have […]

Leave a Reply

