A Life Stirred

Got Books?

on January 23, 2014

A long time ago, I wrote a post about the hilarity that happens in my head when I read books to Joanna.  I meant to do another post with a few more of our favorite books (with my hilarious commentary, of course), but somehow 4 months flew by.  Thanks for being so patient.  Because I know you were just dying for more of my “comedy”.

First up, Baby Bear’s Books by Jane Yolen.  A book about books.  Fun.  Baby Bear really loves his books.  Like really.

This poor mama bear.  She's just trying to make dinner, and her baby bear is skateboarding.   In the house.  And asking (probably whining) for more books!

This poor mama bear. She’s just trying to make dinner, and her baby bear is skateboarding. In the house. And asking (probably whining) for more books!

Next, we’ve got one of Jo’s favorites, Millie Waits for the Mail by Alexander Steffensmeier.  (Whoa, now that’s an intense last name.   Poor guy.)  It’s about a cow who just loves mail time (or rather, terrifying the mailman).

I really like all the illustration details.  Like that pile of cow poo.  Really?  Joanna likes to find all the chickens.

I really like all the illustration details. Like that pile of cow poo. Really? Joanna likes to find all the chickens.

Also, how can you not enjoy a book where the cow wears goggles?

Also, how can you not enjoy a book where the cow wears goggles?

Lastly, I Love You Through and Through by Bernadette Rossetti Shustak (ooof…that’s a doozy of a name too!).  It’s your standard love-y board book.  And it’s a nice thought, but there are a few lines I always want to change:

Really?  Do I have to love your mad side?  I love you.  But I don't think I love when you throw tantrums.

Really? Do I have to love your mad side? I love you.  And I love you when you through tantrums.  But I don’t particularly *love* that side of you.

I feel like it's unkind to say I love your sad side.  Like I love when you're sad...?  Maybe I'm reading too much into this...

I feel like it’s unkind to say I love your sad side. Like I love when you’re sad…? Maybe I’m reading too much into this…

So, do you have any favorite kid books?  Or anything in your kid’s books that make you laugh?

 

 

Leave a Reply

