A Life Stirred

My dear Joanna

on February 6, 2014

My dear Joanna,

I can’t believe you’re going to be two on Saturday!  I’m pretty sure you were *just* a newborn.  (And get used to it, I’m going to be constantly amazed at how old you are.  Doesn’t matter if you’re two or twenty-two.  I’m always going to be lamenting that you were *just* a baby.  Oh dear, don’t be 22.  I can’t handle that.)

You'll always be my baby.  Sorry, kiddo.

You’ll always be my baby. Sorry, kiddo.

So, they say that when a baby is born, a mother is born too.  You made me a mom for the first time.  Which is so poetic and beautiful.  Except when you take a minute to think about it, that really just means I’m winging it with you.  But I think it’s going ok so far.

Someday, when you’re much older than two, you’ll probably want to know what you were like when you were two.  And since your little sister  doesn’t ever sleep for more than 2 hours in a row (and since that’s making Mommy go a little cray-cray), I thought I’d write it down now.  For posterity’s sake.

This past year has been a big one for you (though I suppose with only two years under your belt, they’re all big years).  But this year, you became a big sister.  And you are seriously the best. big. sister. ever.  You love Claire so much.  You bring her toys.  You let me know what she’s doing:  “Uh-oh, Baby crying.” and  “Uh-oh, Baby crawling.”  and “Uh-oh.  Poop.”  (That last one always makes me laugh.)  You are so gentle.  You are protective of her too.  You are everything a big sister should be.  I’m so proud of you.

And if Sister ever needs her socks removed, you are always there for her.

And if Sister ever needs her socks removed, you are always there for her.

Joanna, you love rules and boundaries and structure.  A lot.  I think you and I are pretty similar that way.  (Time will tell if you are an ISTJ too).  When cleaning up your toys (and yes, you actually help clean up), you make sure that we put the toys in the correct bins.  I like that about you.  

You organized the animals in the ark.  And you put all the stripe-y animals together.

You organized the animals in the ark. And you put all the stripe-y animals together.

You are a really good friend.   You are always concerned if someone else is upset.  And you try to share…sort of.  While holding on to the toy you want, you find a different toy for your friend.  I figure at the age of two, that’s not too bad.  And you like to make sure other kids are doing what they’re supposed to do (some may call that bossy, but I say you just really, really like rules).

You know all the Cars’ characters by name, and you request Curious George by saying, “Ooo-ooo, aaah-aaah.”  When the TV is on, you are absolutely glued.  You like to watch football with Daddy, and I love when you would say, “Touchdown!”

You love to help me bake (you’ll haul your chair across the kitchen so you can stand at the counter).

You love to help me with the mixer.

You love to help me with the mixer.  Oh, and I guess Mater likes to help too.

You are really starting to talk a lot, but right now, it feels like a secret language between just you and me.  It is so much fun to have interactive conversations (usually about where Daddy is).  I can’t wait for our conversations to go deeper.

I know there are about a thousand other little things that I want to remember about you at two.  Because before I know it, you’ll be much, much older than two, and this will have been a oh-so-quick blur.  But know this, Joanna Joy, my precious, joyful, gift from God–I love you so much.  I am so thankful that I get to be your mommy….even if I am just winging it most days.

Could you please stay little forever, Baby Girl?

Could you please stay little forever, Baby Girl?

2 responses to “My dear Joanna

  1. Sarah says:

    I can’t believe these little ones are almost two! Goodness, it’s going quickly (and yet the days DRAG by sometimes). She is so cute! Happy Birthday, Joanna!

    • carleymorse says:

      I actually thought about Liam and his upcoming birthday! It’s kinda cool how close our kiddos are…it’d be perfect for playdates. If only we didn’t live in two completely different places.

Leave a Reply

