A Life Stirred

Ten on Ten: A Normal Day

on February 10, 2014

It’s that time again!!  Ten on Ten…finding beauty in the ordinary.  And today was pretty ordinary, and I’m not sure I really found much beauty.  BUT it was fun to document a day-in-the-life and to capture some ordinary moments with a 7 month old and a 2 year old.

I feel like this picture doesn't really depict reality.

I feel like this picture doesn’t really depict reality.

No, really.  I feel like I need to explain this picture, lest you think I have it all together.  Spoiler Alert:  I don’t.

Anyway, for the past few weeks, I have really felt the Lord was asking me to get up before the girls, and read and pray before I touch any technology.  But I ignored that.  I was disobedient.  Ugh.  Not cool.  I had excuses (some of them mildly legit, like getting up 3-5 times a night).  But really, there’s no excuse for disobeying God.

Then I went to IF: Local this weekend.  So good.  So many thoughts swirling around in my head.  I think I’m going to need about 213 days to process everything that was shared.  A few of the speakers talked about calling and doing big things for God.  And I desperately want to do big things for God.  But how can I pursue big things if I’m not willing to be obedient in small things?  (I suppose reading and praying isn’t really small.  It’s really the biggest and best thing I can do–to develop a deeper relationship with God.  But in my head, in my human standards, it seems small.)  Sounds a bit like Matthew 25:23–“His master said to him, ‘Well done, good and faithful servant. You have been faithful over a little; I will set you over much. Enter into the joy of your master.’”  Except I wasn’t being a good and faithful servant.

So, today was the day to be obedient.  To get up before the girls.  Which really shouldn’t even be that hard.  They get up between 7:30 and 8 (maybe 7, on an early day).  Yeah, I have it good.

I got up at 6:30, and before I even had a chance to get out of bed, I heard Joanna talking in her room.  I decided to leave her (she’s used to a bit of alone time in her crib in the morning).  By 6:45 (the time of this picture), Claire was awake, but content and playing.  By 7:00, she had filled the leg of her pajamas with poo, requiring an emergency bath and a load of laundry.  By 7:15, everyone was up, and the day was in full swing.

Not exactly what I had in mind.  And yet, those few minutes of reading and obedience was sweet.  There is a joy in obeying the Lord.  And I have hope that maybe tomorrow morning won’t be as crazy.

Ok, mini-sermon done.  Let’s pick up the pace, shall we?

Breakfast time!

Breakfast time.

Winter is beautiful!  Cold, but beautiful.

Errand time in the winter time.

Mini-meltdown when she realized her friend Thomas wasn't at our house waiting for us.  (He came 10 minutes after we got home.)

Meltdown time, Part 1.

Play time.

Play time.

Meltdown time, part 2.

Meltdown time, part 2.

Nap time, part 1.

Nap time, part 1…this lasted about 3 minutes.

Nap time, part 2...in her carseat because that's how we roll.

Nap time, part 2…in her carseat because that’s how we roll.

Selfie time.

Selfie time.

Monkey clapping time.

Monkey clapping time.

ten on ten button

Leave a Reply

