A Life Stirred

Swirling thoughts and a question

on March 6, 2014

It’s 1:45 on a Thursday afternoon.  Both girls are sleeping (praise the Lord!!).  I have an unknown amount of free time.  Do I mop, shower, read, blog, nap, or scroll through facebook?

Such a tough question.

I decided to blog in my head while mopping.  I’m pretty sure I missed big chunks, but I’ve got most of a post written in my mind (and scribbled out on my grocery shopping list on the fridge).  Classy, right?

A Slinky-trapped baby.  (Nope, it's not related to anything, but it sure is cute!)

A Slinky-trapped baby. How’s  that for a smooth transition?

Lately, I’ve been thinking a lot about community…

And how community connects to friendship…

And how friendship connects to encouragement…

And how encouragement connects to social media usage…

And how social media usage connects to competition and comparison…

And how competition and comparison hinder community and friendship and encouragement…

And on and on and on my thoughts go.

I feel like I’m on the verge of a big thought breakthrough, but then the demands of two kids yank me out of my thought-world.  <–Literally, a baby started crying as I wrote that sentence.  And I still haven’t quite put a finger on how all these sorta-connected things actually connect.

I do know this is what God is stirring in my heart, and I think this will all eventually connect to what He’s calling me to.  I just don’t see all the dots yet.

I have some questions for you.  Yes, you.  It’s about encouragement.

I’m assuming that we all want and need encouragement, right?

So, how do you want to be encouraged?  What form of encouragement would mean the most to you?

I suspect our answers will connect to our love languages and personalities, but I still want to hear from you.  How could someone show encouragement to you?  Would it be spoken words?  A letter?  A surprise cup of coffee?  Help folding the laundry?

Aaaaaaaaand discuss.

And because no post is complete without the help of both girls, here's Jo, eating a post-nap snack and reading the Bible.  She cracks me up!

And because no post is complete without the help of both girls, here’s Jo, eating a post-nap snack and reading the Bible. She cracks me up!

6 responses to “Swirling thoughts and a question

  1. sparrowkindalove says:

    This is a very cool posting! You’re quite funny! It’s a great thing to think about. I think when it comes to me and encouragement i like spoken words or even a letter/email. Some form of positive/genuine communication would be the best. How about you?

    • carleymorse says:

      Thanks for reading (and commenting!). I’m with you…I like words of encouragement–letters, spoken words, etc. But I’m not opposed to most forms of encouragement. And I think you’re right that the encouragement needs to be genuine. Otherwise it feels empty and easy to ignore, you know?

  2. there’s a picture at the end of this post!!!!!!!! 🙂 i’ll think of other things to say, but i wanted express my gratitude and joy about that first 😉

  3. Liz Andretta says:

    Strangely, the biggest encouragement to me is DOING what you are called to do. I like when it includes me (either by talking or maybe even coming over and helping with life). I guess that is the point of community. It’s continual growth without hiding it from each other. It’s have patience wile one works through her weakness and rejoicing when said weakness becomes a strength. I just love to be there for that. To see it. It is the greatest encouragement I can think of. That and that sign you gave me (well the scripture really) has encouraged me A LOT to keep going day by day in this new journey too. I think that hot beverages are a love language too 🙂

Leave a Reply

