A Life Stirred

Ten on Ten: The Monday Edition

on March 10, 2014

I had a really great weekend!!  We made an impromptu trip to Bangor (aka civilization).  It was a little crazy though.  We decided at 7 on Saturday morning that we were going to make the 3 hour trek.  And Ben and Jo were in the middle of making gingerbread donuts for me.  And I needed to shower.  And we had nothing packed.  We were on the road by 8:45, though.   So there should be a prize for that kind of awesome-ness.

All that to say, it’s Monday, and it’s normal life again.  We’re all adjusting.  Plus there’s the time change.  And Operation Paci Elimination (which is into its 3rd day).  And a house that was tornado-ed by our efforts to leave quickly on Saturday morning.

BUT I got to spend today looking for the beautiful in the ordinary (once I remembered it was the 10th).  This little activity always does wonders to adjust my perspective.

Bare baby feet time.  I can. not. keep socks on this kid.

I can. not. keep socks on this kid (or on the other kid, for that matter).

Drink time.

Joanna is always concerned about Claire’s hydration.  What an excellent big sis!

Play time with Mommy.

So pensive.

Stealing Mommy's cell phone.

Stealing Mommy’s cell phone.

Peek-a-boo eggs for lunch.

Peek-a-boo eggs for lunch.

Joanna and George.  Best friends.  He's helping her cope with her paci loss.

Joanna and George. Best friends. He’s helping her cope with the loss of her paci.

A cute, non-napping baby in a messy living room.

A cute, non-napping baby in a messy living room.

So funny story:  When I took the above picture, I was super frustrated.  It was 1:30.  Nobody was napping.  The house was a mess–dishes everywhere, sticky floors, and piles of laundry.  I just wanted a break.  But now, looking at this picture, all I see is the adorable baby on my lap.  And all I remember is the fun we had playing, bouncing, “dancing”, and giving kisses.  Yet in the moment, I kept feeling like I needed to be tackling something.  But I didn’t.  And it was worth it.

That might be worth remembering next time.

Rite Aid drive-thru.  A Mom's best friend...even though I can never get close enough and always end up looking like a fool.  (Also, note the gigantic wall of dirty snow...ugh.)

Rite Aid drive-thru. A Mom’s best friend…even though I can never get close enough to the window and always end up looking really silly while I hang out my window trying to pay.

Sockless...again.  Joanna was smelling her sister's feet.  Brave.

Sockless…again. Joanna was smelling her sister’s feet. Brave.

ten on ten button

Leave a Reply

