A Life Stirred

Setting up the pins

on March 17, 2014

“Everyone everywhere some way some how
are setting up the pins for knocking ‘em down.
It can feel simple but it’s really profound.”

–Sara Groves, “Setting up the Pins”

 This is my life.  I’m setting up the pins.  All day.  Every day.  Over and over and over and over…

Dishes, laundry, diapers, baths, grocery shopping, meal-making, toy picking-up, mopping, vacuuming, dusting…

The list could go on and on.

I set up pins.  So they can be knocked down.

It can get downright discouraging sometimes.  Because at the end of the day, there’s nothing to show for all my efforts.  On a good day, it looks exactly the same as it did in the morning.  On a bad day, it doesn’t.

Don't let the cute baby distract you from all the knocked-over pins around her.

Don’t let the cute baby distract you from all the knocked-over pins around her.

It can be really hard to find joy in that.

It’s hard to find joy in doing something that’s really only noticed if it’s not done.  And for this words-of-affirmation-love-language girl, that’s hard.  Sometimes I just want praise for changing diapers.

But Colossians 3:23 reminds me that I’m not in it for the praise of man.  “Whatever you do, work heartily, as for the Lord and not for men.”

It's no coincidence that Colossians 3:23 hangs above the changing table.

It’s no coincidence that Colossians 3:23 hangs above the changing table.

I’m working for the Lord.  He sees me.  He sees me setting up all the pins.  He sees the pins being knocked down.  I desperately want my work to be done for the glory of God.  Which means my attitude needs to glorify Him.

Anyone else find that hard sometimes?  Or all the time?  Or after the 6th poopy diaper of the day? (Seriously. That can’t be normal for 2 kids.  Sometimes I think they break them up on purpose…which is both impressive and annoying.)

The end of Sara Groves’ song puts it perfectly:

My grandmother had a working song
Hummed it low all day long.
Sing for the beauty that’s to be found
In setting up the pins for knocking ‘em down

Oh that my heart would be able to sing for the beauty that’s to be found in setting up the pins for knocking them down.

(P.S. If this concept resonates with you at all, go watch the music video.  You will. not. regret it!!)

4 responses to “Setting up the pins

  1. Well put Carley, well put. Yes it can be hard some days . . . but when we do it for God’s glory it is all worth it. We ALL need that reminder!!!! Thanks for keeping it real.

  2. Amy says:

    Carley, I just love you! Any parent can relate to this for sure! Loved the video link too, first time hearing this song. Last year, I felt discouraged, all those pins! This year, it’s a beautiful thing.

  3. […] I needed to take Before and After pictures of my house.  Just to enjoy all the work that went into setting up the pins.  Because it’s not like it was really going to be all that amazing at the end…it was […]

Leave a Reply

