A Life Stirred

Really Seeing

on March 23, 2014

I walk around blind.  I get consumed with my own little world.  With my own little family.  With my own little concerns.

I don’t really see the people around me.

I would even venture to say I’m rather comfortable in my blindness.

But God hasn’t been letting me stay blind.  I guess it makes sense.  Jesus was into healing the blind, opening their eyes to see.  Granted that was a literal blindness, but I suspect Jesus cares just as much about my figurative blindness.

God started opening my eyes by opening my ears.  Every day, I turn on the Christian radio station for background music to my day.  I didn’t think much of it….initially.

But a steady stream of the gospel message is changing my heart, opening my eyes, reminding me that there more to this life than my own little world.  I’m singing along with songs and wondering if I really believe what I’m singing.  And if I believe it, why doesn’t that belief shape every. single. thing. I do?

Then last week, I was the first person to arrive at an accident scene–a car went off the road, and the driver was unconscious inside.  All of a sudden, all my CPR training seemed woefully inadequate.  A real live human life (with a real human soul) was in jeopardy.

And I was terrified.  And a little nauseous.  And completely clueless as to how to respond.

I do know that it rocked me.  I wish I had been braver.  I wish I had been bolder.

But it opened my eyes even more.  It reminded me that we have a very limited time here on this earth, and that as a believer, I am called to share the hope of the gospel.  No excuses.

Then why don’t I?  Why do I keep the good news of Jesus to myself?

Why do I fear man more than I fear God?  Why do I waste time when people I know and love don’t know about the God that I know and love?!  Why don’t I feel the brevity of life?

I don’t have the answers to those questions.  I only know that God is making me uncomfortable with my blindness.  And that’s got to be a step in the right direction.  I’m praying for my heart to change, my eyes to really see, and my life to bring nothing but glory to God!

oceans2

3 responses to “Really Seeing

  1. yorkvillexpress says:

    This is a great post. If you can please hit follow I will be grateful and follow back! Thank you http://yorkvillexpress.wordpress.com/

  2. Dawn says:

    Been waiting for this blog. I love you and I love what God is doing in you. You are a beautiful women of God.

Leave a Reply

