A Life Stirred

I’m sitting in the hallway.

on March 24, 2014

Sometimes this parenting thing is a little ridiculous.  Or rather, it makes us do and say ridiculous things.  Things that no other self-respecting grown-up would ever say or do.

Perhaps an example would help.

I have never, in my life, cared so much about someone else’s bowel movements.  “Do you need to poop?”  “Are you pooping?”  “Are you poopy?”  I know for a fact that I have asked each of those questions many, many times…this morning.

You want another example?  I’ve got plenty.

Right now, I’m sitting in the upstairs hallway outside my eldest daughter’s room.  That’s not weird, right?

Lately, Joanna has developed some less than desirable naptime habits.  So, I am trying to correct some of those poor habits.  But let’s be honest, I have no idea if this is going to work.

This is what we want at naptime: resting.  Adorable-ness optional.

This is our naptime goal–rest.  Being adorable is optional (but probably unavoidable).

Ben and I started a conversation about discipline this weekend.  We got interrupted before we got into the specifics, but we’ve got a good handle on what we want to teach Joanna through discipline.  So that’s a start, right?

Primarily, we want her to learn to love the Lord and to be obedient to Him.  And we want to use discipline to teach the gospel.  Joanna is a good kid.  She’s relatively polite and compliant and obedient.  BUT she is still a sinner in need of a Savior.  I don’t want her growing up thinking she is good enough on her own.  I want her to see that she needs Jesus just as much as anyone else.

I want her to love the Lord.

We both need Jesus.

Ben and I still need to “finish” our conversation (yes, yes, I know, it’s a conversation that will be ongoing for the rest. of. her. life) and figure out how to reach our big-picture goals.  But there’s something about having the big picture in mind that makes this sitting-in-the-hall-reinforcing-the-behavior-we-want a little less ridiculous.

No, wait.  It’s still pretty ridiculous.

But it’s worth it.

Leave a Reply

