A Life Stirred

Before and After

on April 9, 2014

I only had two things on my to do list today.  Totally manageable, right?

I love writing my to do lists on a white board.  I just erase as I go.

I love writing my to do lists on a white board. I just erase as I go.  So therapeutic.

I knew we were going to be out all morning, so I didn’t want to overdo it.  But we got home for lunch, and I looked around and was totally overwhelmed by the mess.  I joked with a friend that this was the kind of day where I needed to take Before and After pictures of my house.  Just to enjoy all the work that went into setting up the pins.  Because it’s not like it was really going to be all that amazing at the end…it was just going to be so much better than it was in the beginning.

So I did it.

I took Before and After pictures.  Yeah, I know…who does that?!

Here’s my Before:

This picture stresses me out just looking at it.  (Also, please note the pile of laundry on the floor that's still in the shape of a laundry basket...because I needed the basket for more laundry).

This picture stresses me out. (Also, please note the pile of laundry on the floor that’s still in the shape of a laundry basket…because I needed the basket for more laundry).

And here’s the After:

This just makes me happy.  I lit a candle too.  Because I'm an overachiever.

This just makes me happy. I lit a candle too. Because I’m an overachiever.

And you know what?  This stirred my affections for the Lord!  I feel less overwhelmed and stressed, less chaotic, and ready to engage with my girls and tackle dinner.  I just feel more peace and joy.  It started as a silly project to prove I did something today (because I know things will have re-exploded by the time Ben gets home), but it’s changed the attitude of my heart.  God is so cool like that.

Also, you should be really glad I don’t have pictures of the “During.”  That was a mess…with a toddler that wasn’t napping and a baby that napped and then woke up and then napped again (but required a lot of attention in the middle).

This Before and After picture is so misleading.  Misleading, but cute, right?

Claire at 1:30 and Claire at 3:00.  This is so misleading. Misleading, but cute, right?

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

