A Life Stirred

We can’t all be ears.

on April 25, 2014

Why, hello there!  It’s been awhile, eh?

There’s not any good reason for my 15 day blogging hiatus.  Other than just regular, life-is-busy stuff.  But I’m not complaining.  Things have been really good around here.  Nobody’s been sick (well, except for a persistent cold that we keep passing around, but that’s just part of spring, right?).  Claire has been rocking the sleep thing.  Joanna is hilarious and SO enjoyable these days.  And she’s been napping again…praise the Lord.  (No, seriously, I’m praising the Lord!!)

Last week, I decided to be a brave mom and pull out the finger paints.  To let go of some of that control, and let my kids be kids and create.  Ooof.  Easier said than done!  I had to keep chanting “Process over product.  Process over product.” to myself over and over while the girls worked.

Calvary on a paper plate.  Not Pinterest-worthy.

Calvary on a paper plate. Not Pinterest-worthy.

Even in this simple project, it was so fun to see their different personalities shine through.  Claire dove into the paint head first (I wish that was figurative).  She wasn’t fazed by the feeling of paint (or the taste, unfortunately).  Her artwork was…colorful (and messy).  Joanna, on the other hand, was deliberate and careful.  She did all her painting with one finger (so as to avoid getting too messy).  Her artwork was more calculated.

At one point, I commented, “Claire, you are so messy!”  And Joanna replied, “I messy too.”

No, Joanna.  You aren't messy.  Not even close.

No, Joanna. No, you aren’t.

In that moment, I saw the rawest form of comparison.  Joanna wanted to be what Claire was.  She saw the attention Claire was getting and wanted it.  Joanna disregarded her own skills and talents and design, and yearned to be someone else entirely (at least for that moment).

The Lord used that simple interaction to show me that I do the. exact. same. thing.

I disregard how He’s made me, and I long to be different.  I see the woman who is a gifted singer, leading worship week after week.  And I want that gift.  Or I see the woman who is able to always provide profound wisdom and perspective to any situation.  And I want that.  Or I see the woman who has it all together on Easter morning—kids in match-y outfits and wearing a cute outfit herself.  And I wish I could fit into any of my cute outfits.

Nothing against matching outfits.

Nothing against matching outfits.

But what Joanna failed to realize is that just because Claire has a particular talent (if you can even call being a messy artist a talent) it doesn’t mean Joanna is without any talents of her own.  I love that Joanna painted carefully and neatly.  I think that’s part of what makes her so sweet and special.  I know that her desire for organization and order will be something that will serve her well in the future (if it doesn’t control her, that is).

But isn’t that what I fail to realize too?  Just because somebody else has different talents doesn’t mean I don’t have any.  We can’t all be worship leaders.  We can’t all be gifted at the same things.  We can’t all be an ear, you know?!  (Thank you, 1 Corinthians 12:17.)

Claire is uniquely created by God.  She has the ability to dive into what she does with passion and energy.

Joanna is uniquely created by God.  She has the ability to be organized and deliberate in her work (even at her young age).

Carley is uniquely created by God.  He has given me special talents and gifts that He wants me to use for His kingdom.

You are uniquely created by God.  Are you able to see what talents God has given you?  Or do you find yourself longing to be an ear?

If the whole body were an eye, where would be the sense of hearing?  If the whole body were an ear, where would be the sense of smell?

But as it is, God arranged the members in the body, each one of them, as he chose.

If all were a single member, where would the body be? 

As it is, there are any parts, yet one body.

1 Corinthians 12:17-20

3 responses to “We can’t all be ears.

  1. A wonderful reminder to all of us.

  2. […] We can’t all be ears. Apr […]

Leave a Reply

