A Life Stirred

A bit more on being an ear

on April 29, 2014

I love when God reinforces things I’ve been processing through.

I just wanted to share from my devotional today (from shereadstruth.com…an awesome online, daily devotional.  Check it out if you’re looking for something to help you get into the Word everyday).  It’s basically exactly what I just wrote about, and it might just encourage you, like it encouraged me.


 

Verse 1 of Colossians in The ESV reads, “Paul, an apostle of Christ Jesus by the will of God”.

The Message reads, “I, Paul, have been sent on special assignment by Christ as part of God’s master plan.”

Yes, there is a whole lot more of Paul’s letter ahead of us. Yes, this seems like such a inconsequential afterthought of a verse, and to stop just one verse in seems silly.

But it’s not. I want you to write it down – I want you to say it out loud:

“I, ______, have been send on a special assignment by Christ as part of God’s master plan.”

Do you believe it, sister?

I mean truly… do you?

Because it’s true. Your special assignment is different than mine. It’s different from your sister’s calling, it’s different from your mentor’s, and your neighbor’s and the girl who sat in front of you in church last week. It is as unique as you are, this calling to point the world to Christ.

And no matter how old you are, and how many days God has written for you on this earth, sister, YOU are a part of the MASTER PLAN. He has willed it. It is written. (Psalm 139:16 says, “in your book were written, every one of them, the days that were formed for me, when as yet there were not of them.”)


Good stuff, right?  God is good.  And this reminds me that I need to STOP looking at and comparing myself to every.single.person I meet.  I just need to rest in who God has made me and what He has made me to do.

What about you?   Do you get bogged down in comparisons and longings for a different gift set?  (Or am I the only one…please tell me I’m not the only one…)  What would you say is your “special assignment”?

2 responses to “A bit more on being an ear

  1. rmfowler90 says:

    Good stuff Carley. I’ve found that the older I get the less I compare myself to others and my perceived interpretation of their importance vs. mine. So there is hope.

Leave a Reply

