A Life Stirred

Goodbye, Facebook.

on May 6, 2014

So let’s talk about Facebook for a minute.

It’s great, right?  I mean, I really do love what it adds to my life.  I can keep in contact with friends who live thousands of miles away!  I can celebrate all those big life moments like I’m right there with you—engagement, weddings, pregnancy announcements [Seriously, will we ever run out of cute ways to announce that a baby is on the way?!], and birth announcements!  I can link to encouraging, inspiring articles, and read articles that you recommend.  I can share what’s happening in my life with those I care about.  I can encourage you or make you laugh (or both…on a good day).  I can organize an impromptu park trip or invite friends over for a playdate.  I can continue deep discussions with my small group, and we can hold each other accountable.

Where else can I share this with everyone I know?

Where else can I share this with everyone I know?

Facebook is awesome.

In theory.

I’m finding that Facebook falls short for me.  Lately, it has become a place for me to waste time, to compare myself, to measure myself against others (and fall short).  As I spend time (let’s be honest, lots of time) scrolling mindlessly through my newsfeed, I end up feeling jealous, discontent, annoyed, and distracted.  So very distracted.  Distracted from my girls.  Distracted from my husband.  And worst of all, distracted from my God and what He’s asking me to do.  Facebook has been drowning out His voice and sucking up my time.

So yeah, it’s just not working for me anymore.

I’ve tried limiting my time on Facebook.  Apparently, I lack the necessary amount of self-control to make that happen.  So, I’m quitting.  Cold turkey.

I’m not going to lie, I’m scared.  I’m scared of missing out.  I’m scared of being left out.  I’m scared I will be forgotten because I’m not in your newsfeed all. the. time.  Because let’s be real, it’s really hard to connect with people who don’t use Facebook.  I know because I’ve given them a hard time about it.

And as soon as I made my decision to go cold turkey on Facebook-usage, I had a thousand worries and questions assault my mind:  How will I connect with long-distance friends?  How will I have meaningful conversations with my small group?  How will I find anyone to meet me at the park?  How will I know what’s happening in my friends’ lives?  Will I ever be invited to anything ever again?  How will I alert everyone that I just wrote another blog post (and how will I get feedback on what I write)?

Where will I post all the pictures and videos of my adorable children?  Seriously, the world will be missing out.

Where will I post all the pictures and videos of my adorable children?  Seriously, the world will be missing out.

And on and on and on.  Facebook really has quite a grip on me.  It’s not right.  So I’m done.

I haven’t changed.  I still value deep relationships and connecting with others.  I still want to share and be real and encourage others.  But for a season, that’s going to have to happen without Facebook.  <Gulp.>

I will still be around.  We can connect through email, Instagram, Skype, or even this blog (Hey, look!  A place to leave comments!  How convenient!!).  Or we can connect by talking on the phone or texting or snail mail (anyone want to be my old school pen-pal?!).  Or we can connect the old fashioned way, and just bump into each other out in the real world and stop and chat.

This is hard for me.  I really don’t want to do it.  But I’m pretty sure I need to.

[Two last notes:  1.)  I’m deactivating my account tomorrow night.  That should give you ample time to prepare your hearts.  Ha!  2.)  This is one of those things that God has asked me to do, and He may not be asking you to do the same (although He may be…).  So no judgment, ok?]

12 responses to “Goodbye, Facebook.

  1. Melissa says:

    Love this. And find it very inspiring! Text me to go to the park, ok?????

  2. Teresa Beaver says:

    I just love you! Good for you for being obedient to God’s calling on your heart. No harrassment from me, I fully support you!

  3. Sarah says:

    I think it’s awesome to follow what you feel God’s tugging you toward. Social media has so many positives AND negatives. There have been many seasons that I have backed away, and I think it’s wise to have a clear understanding of when to do so and in what capacity!
    I will keep up on your blog! And I will definitely miss your sweet girls on my newsfeed 🙂

    BTW, have I ever mentioned the Influence Network to you? I didn’t know if I had or hadn’t. I think you’d enjoy it!

    • carleymorse says:

      I think you’ve mentioned it…but I’m not really sure what it is. Does it cost money? Or is it just a way to connect…? I’m a little fuzzy on how it works. And yet, intrigued. 🙂

  4. nicatharsis says:

    We share the same sentiments … it’s really hard to be left out so I’m still halfway in deactivating my account

  5. April says:

    I love your transparency, Carly. I have found myself feeling much the same way! I would love to join you at the park for a play date (as soon as school is done). I look forward to hearing what God does as a result of your obedience.

  6. […] I’m that person now.  About Facebook.  Seriously, everyone just needs to quit Facebook.  Now.  It’s so much better.  Do […]

  7. […] it’s been pretty awesome.  After the initial panic attack at the idea of disconnecting from the oh-so-addicting Facebook world, it was great.  No regrets.  No struggles.  Just a […]

Leave a Reply

