A Life Stirred

In Search of the Elusive Perfect Picture

on June 11, 2014

Today, I am linking up with Kristi at And Babies Don’t Keep.  I don’t know Kristi, but I’m pretty sure we should be best friends.  I love every single word she writes.  At this point, our relationship is completely one-sided—I read her blog and pretend we’re friends.  Wait.  Is that weird?   

Anyway, she’s hosting a storytelling link-up on her blog…because stories are a way to connect.  And for me, they stir my affections for the Lord, especially if they have meaning and depth and humor.  So I’m really excited to be joining in this month.

Let’s go back in time to early September of last year.  Joanna was 19 months old and Claire was 2 months old.  A friend had sent them super cute, matching Best Friends shirts.  Since writing a thank you seemed like too much work, I had the awesome idea to take an adorable sister-y picture of the girls wearing their shirts and post it on facebook.  A sort of 21st century thank you note.

I got them dressed in their new shirts.  They were adorable.  Then Claire pooed.  I changed her diaper and ignored the fact that she nailed part of her onesie.  I probably should have just stopped there and tried again another day.  But I was not to be deterred.  I would get that oh-so-special sister picture.

Nope.  Not even close.

Nope. Not even close.

In an effort to get at least one of the kids to stop crying, I gave Joanna a toy.

Again, not quite that special moment I was looking for.

Again, not quite that special moment I was looking for.

I changed strategies and gave Joanna her paci.

Apparently, infants can experience acute jealousy.

Apparently, infants can experience acute jealousy.

So I took the paci away.

What was I thinking?

What was I thinking?

I’m a creative, resilient person.  So I decided that maybe individual shots were a better idea.  I could always do a collage.  A collage thank you.  Perfect.

Claire--ever the serious baby.

Claire–ever the serious baby.

The lingering tears aren’t really a good way to say thank you.

The lingering tears aren’t really a good way to say thank you.

Perseverance is key in motherhood, right?  So I tried a few more times, determined to get that picture I had in my head.

Well, at least no one is sobbing.

Well, at least no one is sobbing.

Sharing is caring.

Sharing is caring.

“Yup, sorry, kids.  I’m your mom forever.  You can expect this kind of ridiculousness for the rest of your lives.”

“Yup, sorry, kids.  I’m your mom forever. You can expect this kind of ridiculousness for the rest of your lives.”

I never did get that perfect picture.  But you know what?  Sometimes it’s not about that perfect picture…because the perfect picture doesn’t reflect the true messiness of life.

Sometimes it’s just about capturing those messy moments and finding the humor in the ridiculousness.  And in all honesty, I enjoy these less-than-perfect pictures far more than I would have ever enjoyed the perfect one.  Authenticity is always worth it in the long run.

 

And Babies Don't Keep
6 responses to “In Search of the Elusive Perfect Picture

  1. Becky says:

    HA! I swear that getting kids to cooperate for pictures is one of life’s most futile endeavors…which is why when we actually get one we refer to it as a “lightning strike” because it’s SO rare 🙂 Have a great day with those pretty girls! Stopping by from Kristi’s link up…

    • carleymorse says:

      “Lightening strike.” I like that! It really is nearly impossible. Thank goodness for the digital age where I can take 1000 pictures at a time. I have no idea how my mom ever got decent pictures of my brother and I!

  2. HAHAHA I love this so much! Those onesies are awesome and so’s the progression. SO GOOD. Thanks so much for sharing, linking up, and for being part of a one-sided relationship. NO LONGER!

    • carleymorse says:

      Thanks for reading! There was a point in the middle of that picture series where I was aware how ridiculous it was, and I started writing the story in my head. I’m just thankful for a reason to write it down. 🙂

      Also, I couldn’t help but notice on Instagram that you posted a picture of THREE girls in match-y bathing suits. I’m a little jealous. I’m not sure how you did it, but you captured that elusive perfect picture. 🙂

  3. That is hilarious! I feel like that happens to me more often than not. My favorite one was my daughter’s 2 year birthday picture where she was getting ready to blow out the candles. She looks shocked, my older son is wearing a ninja shirt, and I had a two-month-old colicky baby who was SCREAMING and my mom thought he should be in the picture, too, so he’s sort of dangling in mid-air. It is so hilariously awful that I printed it and hung it in my house! lol Just coming over from And Babies Don’t Keep’s linkup and you made me smile! (My picture is in this post, if my description of it isn’t quite enough for you – http://slightlycosmopolitan.com/blog/2014/01/isla-two/)

    • carleymorse says:

      Oh, my word! That picture is hilarious! I love it. And you know, as much as we want the perfect picture, aren’t the less-than-perfect ones waaaaay more fun? Thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

