A Life Stirred

Becoming a Real Grown-up: Step One

on August 13, 2014

It’s that time again!  Story-telling time!  Kristi at And Babies Don’t Keep hosts a monthly story-telling link-up, and I’m a fan.  (Even though I missed last month, I’m still a fan.  Just not a very organized fan.)  Story-telling is a way to connect and to share and to stir our affections for the Lord.  They are way to get to know one another and to get beyond the basics. 

All too often, as a mom of young kids, I fail to really dig into my friends’ pasts.  It’s easy to get lost in the here and now (especially when the “here and now” generates so many poopy diapers and whiney toddlers), but I want to be better at learning who my friends are and how they came to where they are today.  

So, in light of that, I will be sharing a story of how I came to be where I am today…literally.  (And yes, I’m using that word correctly.)

It was 2006.  It was my senior year in college.  I felt old.  (HA!)

I double majored in Spanish and Mathematics.  Strange combo, I know.  I just liked both subjects.  While I had no idea what I was going to do with that degree, I figured it’d come to me eventually…which was a great plan when I was a sophomore but was not quite as comforting as a senior with real life just around the corner.

So I did what any responsible senior would do…I ignored the fact that I was graduating.  I focused on important things like bubble wrapping the math wing and playing mud football.

Seriously.  We used a lot of bubble wrap.

Seriously. We used a lot of bubble wrap.

My armpit stayed clean and dry. That never happens!

While that may sound a bit flippant, it really wasn’t.  I trusted God, and I knew that He would provide my next step…regardless of whether I started in March or May.  So, I waited until the summer to start my job hunt.

I graduated and then tackled step one in becoming a legit grown-up: get a job.

Graduation!!  I probably should have ironed my gown....

Graduation!! I probably should have ironed my gown….

I decided to pursue teaching jobs that would hire me without a certification.  I applied to lots and lots and lots of places.  I got really good at resume writing (or at tweaking a resume for a particular job).  I went on a few interviews.

In the middle of July, I drove 12 hours to northern Maine for an interview at a residential math and science magnet school.  They were looking for a “Residential Intern”, which entailed living in the dorm, shadowing a teacher, and then teaching my own math class in the spring semester.  It sounded appealing because I wouldn’t have to dive right into teaching high school math.  Basically, I could ease into being a real grown-up.

There were all kinds of perks to the job.  I had a place to live.  They would feed me and provide internet and cable.  I would be saving pretty much everything I made.  It was in a beautiful location.  A little rural.

Ok, ok, a lot rural. But beautiful.

"She neeeeeeds wiiiiiiiide open spaaaaaaces."

“She neeeeeeds wiiiiiiiide open spaaaaaaces.”

And it was only a year-long contract.  The school pretty much expected turnover, so I could try out teaching and dorm living and go from there.  (And no, it didn’t occur to me that perhaps there was turnover because living in a dorm with 100+ teenagers was totally cray-cray.)

So, I took the job. And two and half weeks later, I jammed myself and all my stuff into my ’99 Corolla and headed north for a year of adventure!

See?

See?  I’m ready for adventure.

That was 8 years ago this week.

But how one year turned into eight is another story for another day.

And Babies Don't Keep
4 responses to “Becoming a Real Grown-up: Step One

  1. Renee says:

    I really loved this post! I enjoy the “fluff” posts but I thoroughly enjoy the more detailed in thought/sharing your heart ones. You’re a wonderful writer, keep up the good work!

    • carleymorse says:

      Thanks, friend! The “fluff” posts are so much easier to write, but I like sharing my heart too (it just takes longer to figure out what’s in my heart, you know?).

  2. You mentioned cramming everything into your car…I remember, when I started buying “real” furniture, one of my thoughts was, “I can no longer move using just my car!!!” And that thought was kind of terrifying. Ha. Can’t wait to read how the rest turns out! 🙂

  3. Love this line: So I did what any responsible senior would do…I ignored the fact that I was graduating. I focused on important things like bubble wrapping the math wing and playing mud football.
    Naturally, right? Way to trust him and settle into what he had planned. Can’t wait to hear the next part! Thanks so much for linking up and getting behind the idea of this storytellers thing!

Leave a Reply

