A Life Stirred

Potty Training Genius…kind of.

on September 23, 2014

So we are two months into this potty training gig.  And I quit.  Just kidding.

Joanna is 100% trained…as far as #1 goes.  And 0% trained as far as as #2 goes.

So, she’s 50% trained…?

I know it’s totally normal for a toddler to have trouble with #2.  But she was so tricky.  She had a few #2 successes, and then decided it wasn’t worth it…and she would just wait for her diaper at naptime and bedtime.

So at least she was consistent.

Yesterday, Ben and I decided to up the bribe incentive.  We bought her a big girl bed (a twin mattress on the floor…classy), which she only gets to sleep in, if she is successful.

I drew a picture to help her little two year old mind comprehend all the rewards that would happen for a successful #2.

I debated whether adding the poop was too graphic.  I decided it wasn't.

I debated whether adding the poop was too graphic. I decided it wasn’t.

If she poops in the potty, she gets a Curious George episode, M&Ms (probably not a whole bowl), and her big girl bed.

100_2393

Not pictured: me eating her M&Ms while watching the Georgie episode.

She carried the paper around yesterday, reviewing what would happen with each scenario.

So far, we are 2/3 for getting poo in the correct location.  I’m tentatively optimistic that we are making progress.

10 responses to “Potty Training Genius…kind of.

  1. Melissa says:

    The poop in the picture was totally appropriate! This made me laugh out loud!

  2. Sasha says:

    I love the little paper award idea!! My daughter was way too easy to potty train so I just know he will be difficult (you never luck out twice)! I am going to remember this one! 🙂

  3. Mom says:

    I love it – from the smiley-Joanna on the potty to the frowny Joanna in diapers. I especially liked that the paper was wrinkled from being carried around. 2 out of three is fantastic!

  4. Erin says:

    Hey Isaac has been trained for #1 for almost a year now and still won’t do #2 in the potty. He really doesn’t want to do it and will wait for the nap time diaper 😦 but we may be making head way as just Sunday he literally ran down the hall stripped out of his pants and flew to the potty because he had to go so bad…it was kind of comical. Never did I think I would jump up and down and be over joyed to see poop in a potty! And we had to talk about his pooping on the potty the rest of the day:(. Not really my idea of fun but whatever works! Oh and we let him spray the “smelly” spray (air freshener) after he poops on the potty.
    On the bright side Abby seems to get all excited when Isaac has to go potty and runs to the bathroom when he’s goes so maybe I should start putting her on too and get rid of diapers for good! Haha oh how I wish it was that easy!
    Sorry for my novel hope all is well miss ya!

    • carleymorse says:

      It’s nice to know I’m not alone. 🙂 What is with toddlers and their poop? So weird. I just keep reminding myself that you never see a high school who asks for a diaper so they can poop. At some point between now and 9th grade, Joanna and Isaac will figure it out (or at least that’s what I’m praying!).

  5. Tami Qualls says:

    My son is 22 months old. How did you decide your little one was ready?

    • Carley Morse says:

      She was super interested in potty things… It wasn’t a battle to get her to sit. She also could tell me when she was peeing or pooing in her diaper. In interest of full disclosure, though, she still has no interest in doing #2 on the potty. So I’m trying to just let her be and give her time to get used to it.

Leave a Reply

