A Life Stirred

The Old-Me

on October 2, 2014

“Taming the Tongue in 31 Days”…lofty goal, right?  James 3:8 actually says, “no human being can tame the tongue.”  So maybe I should just call it quits right now.  Ha!

As you can probably imagine, this series isn’t going to be a 31 step program to obtain a tamed tongue.  It’s simply a journey.  A journey where we will consider our words and their impact.

It’s a journey I’m already on.  It all started on Tuesday, August 19th.  God absolutely wrecked me about my mouth and words.  I ugly cried for a month!

I’ll be honest—I don’t really want to share this bit of my story.  It doesn’t portray the perfect, put-together version of me that I like to present.  BUT if I’m going to ask you to join me on this journey, you should probably know why I am so passionate about taming my tongue these days.

I need you to know my heart.  I need you to know that I am right in the middle of this mess, of learning how to speak with grace and love and peace.  I need you to know that I’m writing this blog series for mostly for me (though I hope you will benefit as well).

So, Tuesday, August 19th.

Really, August 19, 2014, is simply a marker in time.  A marker between the Old-Me and the New-Me.

You see, the Old-Me gossiped.  All the time.  With no discretion.  And no real awareness it (other than a few pangs of guilt that I would ignore).

The Old-Me justified it.  I claimed it was just venting or sharing or being real.  I fell into the trap of passive gossip (meaning I listened to others gossip or I read gossip-y comments online).  I sought it out.  I wanted to hear and share what wasn’t mine to hear or share.  I did it to feel better about myself, to feel like I was “in the know.”  I did it to prove that I was important.

But God didn’t allow me to stay in my sin.  Praise Jesus!!

On Monday, August 18th, I actually had the thought: “I’m so glad I don’t struggle with gossip.”  HA! Hahahahahahaha!  Pride before the fall…or something like that.

Then on Tuesday, August 19th, God wrecked me.  He showed me conversation after conversation where I allowed my untamed tongue to go wild. He revealed how casual I had become with my words.  He showed me conversations from the distant past and some from the day before.  He showed me the damage that gossip causes.  He showed me the insidious nature of that gossip and how I had blatantly participated in it for years!!

It. Was. Terrible.

I was wrecked.  I saw my sin as God saw it…and it was ugly.  I felt terrible.

And yet out of that day came the New-Me…

But more on that tomorrow.

c small

2 responses to “The Old-Me

  1. Kara says:

    Love you so much, Carley. I miss being able to sit across a table from you and chat. 🙂 I love that you’re doing this, and I love keeping in touch with you through this medium. I love seeing how God continues to work in you and shape you into the image of His Son!! ❤ ❤

    • Carley Morse says:

      Aww, thanks for reading! I appreciate it. God has been doing some good work in me, and as His word says, He is faithful to complete the good work He began…and He is!

Leave a Reply

