A Life Stirred

The New-Me

on October 4, 2014

For the moment all discipline seems painful rather than pleasant,

but later it yields the peaceful fruit of righteousness to those who have been trained by it.

–Hebrews 12:11

I’m not going to lie:  being disciplined totally stinks.  It’s painful and unpleasant.  I don’t like seeing my sin for what it is.

This face basically sums up how I feel about being disciplined.  (It also shows how Claire feels about being disciplined.)

This face basically sums up how I feel about being disciplined. (It sums up Claire’s feelings on discipline as well.)

God, in His mercy, disciplined me this August.  He showed me that I gossiped.  He showed me that my words were not pleasing to Him.  Not.  At.  All.

I did not like being disciplined.  Not.  At.  All.

But there was good news!  The Gospel brought forgiveness and transformation.

And now, the discipline can yield the “peaceful fruit of righteousness.”  Doesn’t that just sound lovely?!

As I mentioned before, God has made me a new creation.  A new creation.  <Happy sigh>

That means I can be different.  The words that come out of my mouth can be different!  I want to be intentional about every single word that comes out of my mouth.

I don’t have it all figured out.  In fact, I still very much in the middle of it.  I am working on changing my habits and thoughts (and let me tell you, it is hard to change speech habits that I’ve had for at least 15 years!).  It is a slow process, but God has so dramatically changed my heart towards gossip that I KNOW I will never be the same.

It’s really easy for me to dwell on the Old-Me, on the sin and ugliness of it…because that’s what I know;  that’s what I’ve lived.  But there is a New-Carley on the horizon.  There is a New-Me who will speak with love and truth, who will refuse to participate in gossip, who will speak encouragement and peace.

I cannot wait until that is what defines my words and speech!  And that is what the rest of this month is allllll about.  It’s about the New Creation.  No doubt I will be learning as I go.  It will not be perfect or polished, but it will be real.  And I know it will stir my affections for the Lord.

I pray that it will stir your affections for the Lord as well.  And I pray that you will consider your words and speech too.

c small

Leave a Reply

