A Life Stirred

A Heart Issue

on October 6, 2014

So, as I’ve mentioned, I used to be a gossip.

I don’t even like to type that.

A gossip.

Honestly, when I think of a gossip, I think of that nosy, busybody old lady who peeks out the blinds in her window to see what was happening across the street, so that she’ll have something to share with her old-lady friends.

Like Gladys Kravitz from Bewitched...

Remember Gladys Kravitz from Bewitched?

I wasn’t that bad.  Or was I?  I think the way we use social media could sometimes (not always) be considered the 21st century version of peeking through the blinds.  <gulp>

So, what is gossip?  Is it just peeking through the blinds and sharing what we learn?

Or is it more?

I believe it’s more.  I believe God has been showing me that there’s more to it.

Tomorrow, I’ll get into specifics about what gossip is (and how it can show up).

But before I do that, there’s something you have to understand.

Gossip is a heart issue.

An issue of the heart.

That which is in my heart will come out of my mouth.

So if jealousy and discontentment and insecurity and bitterness are in my heart, it will spew out of my mouth as well.  And I will find myself gossiping and tearing others down with my words.

Ugliness in my heart =  ugliness in my words.  (How’s that for a straightforward equation?!)

However, it’s an equation that can be changed!  I can put God’s Word into my heart.  I can fill my heart with Him and His Holy Spirit.  And then, as peace and love and grace fill my heart, peace and love and grace will fill my mouth too!

I never get tired of realizing the depth of God’s grace.  It really is amazing.

Don't miss a day!

Don’t miss a day!

Leave a Reply

