A Life Stirred

God’s Word on our Words :: Ephesians 4:29

on October 13, 2014

So, last week we talked about gossip.  A lot.  I’d apologize for that…except I’m not sorry.  It’s where this journey to a tame tongue started for me.

Yet there’s so much more to a tame tongue than just gossip.  An untamed tongue will…

  • Gossip.
  • Slander.
  • Grumble and complain.
  • Speak before thinking.
  • Tear others down.
  • Speak in anger.
  • Speak bitterness.
  • Judge.
  • Lie.
  • Be sarcastic.
  • Hurt others.
  • Boast.

I’m sure there are more things an untamed tongue will do, but that seemed like enough for now.  I suspect (no, I know) that all of us have done most (all?) of those things.  In our natural state, our tongues are wild and untamed.

But thankfully, the Lord (and His Holy Spirit in us) can change us.  Can I get a woot-woot?  (Seriously, I’m excited that my words don’t need to be defined by the above list.)

So, because the Lord can change us, I think it’s worth learning what He says about how our words should be…because that will be our end goal.  This week is all about what God’s Word says about our words.

It’s gonna be a happy week.

Let’s start with my favorite.  After I realized I had a problem with my tongue (that sounds gross…but I guess it was gross), this verse kind of rocked my world in a good way.  I wanted to plaster it everywhere, just so it could sink in.

Let no corrupting talk come out of your mouths,

but only such as is good for building up, as fits the occasion,

that it may give grace to those who hear. 

Ephesians 4:29

I really do love this verse so much.  Every time I read it, it re-hits me with its awesomeness.  (Why, yes, I did make up two words for that sentence…although spell-check is ok them.)

Let no corrupting talk come out of your mouth.  That’s what not to do.  Other versions say “no unwholesome talk.”

But only such as is good for building up, as fits the occasion.  This is what we should do.  Build up.  Encourage.  Speak life!

So that it may give grace to those who hear.  That is the goal of our words.  To give grace.

Yes and amen!

Don't miss a day!

Don’t miss a day!

Leave a Reply

