A Life Stirred

God’s Word on our Words :: James 1:19

on October 14, 2014

Hey, remember 10 months ago when I shared my word of the year?

I felt that 2014 was going to be year of listening. And it has!  And it hasn’t.  There have been some ups and downs.

But it’s funny.  God made a point to show me the truth about my words, about how I speak.

Initially, I remember thinking that it had nothing to do with listening.  Because talking the opposite of listening.

But guess what?!  It’s not as unrelated as I thought!!  God is cool.

Know this, my beloved brothers:

let every person be quick to hear, slow to speak, slow to anger…

James 1:19

Quick to hear.  Slow to speak.

There is a connection!

Mind. Blown.

I frequently switch this verse around.  I am quick to speak and slow to listen.

I am quick to speak with God and slow to listen to Him.

I am quick to speak with Ben and slow to listen, to really listen.

I am quick to speak to my girls and slow to listen (even though they aren’t too talk-y yet).

I am quick to speak to my friends and slow to listen, to hear their hearts.

Oh, how I want to get this verse straightened out in my life!

I want to be QUICK TO HEAR and SLOW TO SPEAK.  Honestly, I’d love for my words to be few and intentional.  As opposed to what they are, plentiful and haphazard.

Lord, help me to be quick to hear.  Help me to be slow to speak.

Do you feel you are quick to hear and slow to speak?  Or is it more the other way around?

Don't miss a day!

Don’t miss a day!

 

2 responses to “God’s Word on our Words :: James 1:19

  1. Mom says:

    God gave us 2 ears and 1 mouth for a reason. Listen at least twice as much as you speak!!

  2. Elizabeth says:

    This has really been speaking to my heart as of late and trying to be more aware on a daily basis. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

