A Life Stirred

God’s Word on Our Words :: 1 Thessalonians 5:11

on October 15, 2014

Joanna has some obnoxious delightful  songs on my her iPod.  Bible verses set to music.  Presumably they are catchy so that she will be inspired to memorize scripture.  I think it might be working because I’ve caught her singing along to them during naptime.

One side effect, however, is that they are also worming their way into my brain.  This is both a good thing (it’s always beneficial to know scripture) and a bad thing (they are oh-so-annoying).

 Therefore encourage one another and build one another up, just as you are doing. 

1 Thessalonians 5:11

Sing with me:  “Encourage one another and build each other up. Build each other up.  Build each other up.  Encourage one another and build each other up.  Up up up up up up up up.”

In this journey towards taming my tongue, this verse (song?) has been almost permanently stuck in my mind.  So I guess Steve Green got what he wanted—scripture in the minds of believers.  [Sidenote:  I just googled Steve Green, and it turns out he’s a well-respected and talented Christian artist.  Who knew?  Ha!  Sorry, Steve Green.]

Encourage one another and build each other up.  This is my heart’s cry.  Recently, a new mom’s group started at my church (MOMS Connection…check us out, if you’re local!), and our theme for the year is “encouragement.”  Because all moms need encouragement.  So badly.

I want to be an encourager.  I want everyone who crosses my path to leave feel just a little lighter because of encouragement.

I’ll be honest, though.  It’s not always easy.  Sometimes I’m too self-centered to encourage.  Sometimes I’m too prideful to encourage.  Sometimes I feel too discouraged to encourage.

Out of the heart the mouth speaks, right?  So if I have a heart full of the Lord’s encouragement, my mouth will speak encouragement as well!  I simply need to seek Him and encouragement from His word.  Simple really.

Do you need encouragement?  How do you most like to hear/feel/receive encouragement?

Don't miss a day!

Don’t miss a day!

 

 

Leave a Reply

