A Life Stirred

God’s Word on Our Words :: Proverbs 18:21

on October 16, 2014

Proverbs is full of all kinds of awesome wisdom.  Like it’s a book of wisdom of something.  Which it is.

Anyway, Proverbs has a lot to say about how we talk, and it was hard to choose just one verse.  Who knew that 31 days wasn’t going to be enough?!

Death and life are in the power of the tongue,

and those who love it will eat its fruit. 

Proverbs 18:21

The concept of speaking life is very intriguing to me.  My words can give life!  Or death!  That’s some power!

Obviously, it’s not talking about literal life and death, but rather our words can generate energy and life in someone or they can cause destruction and pain.

I think about this a lot with my girls.  My words to them matter.  What I speak over them matters.

Before I had kids, I heard a mom talk about the “Terrible Twos.”  She said she never wanted to speak that over her children.  She knew that the age of two might be a challenge (she wasn’t naive), but she didn’t want to speak it as if it was an expectation.  That stuck with me.

It comes up a lot in conversations about the sisterly relationship between my two girls (16 months apart).  They get along really well right now (not perfectly, but really well), and generally, people (read: strangers in Walmart) respond to that by commenting that “Don’t worry; they’ll hate each other when they get older” (or some variation of that).

I refuse to speak that over my girls.  Those are words of death!

I tell them that they are best friends!  I foster their friendship and love for one another.  I pray that they will be best buddies forever!

BFFs!

BFFs!

And yes, I know that they will have disagreements and fights.  I’m not blind to what the reality of two teenage girls 16 months apart will be like.  It won’t always be pretty.  But by speaking life over their relationship, I believe I can foster a deep love for one another that transcends any teenager squabble.

They recently discovered wrestling.  It's an oddly fair match-up.

They recently discovered wrestling. It’s an oddly fair match-up.

How do you choose to speak life over your kids?  Or husband?  Or friends?  Have you ever thought of your words in terms of life and death?

Don't miss a day!

Don’t miss a day!

Leave a Reply

