A Life Stirred

Now what?

on October 20, 2014

Right after that eye-opening day in August, there was about two weeks where I had no idea how to talk like a normal human being.  Not a clue.

I mean, I basically needed to undo years of learned behaviors, which is no easy feat.  And because I was so serious about being different with my words, I wanted to just clam up until I figured it all out.

But that wasn’t so easy.  I talk all the time.  A quick google search informed me that women say about 20,000 words a day.  That’s a lot of words.  Words to my husband.  Words to my girls.  Words to my friends (not to be confused with “Words with Friends”).  Words to myself (whoa, tell me that doesn’t give you a moment’s pause—maybe the words we say to ourselves should be edifying too).  Words to strangers.

There’s a lot to think about when it comes to my words.  And no easy solution.  In the beginning of this word-journey, I had more questions than answers about my words:

How do you share frustrations without gossiping?

How do I talk to friends in a way that I can build them up?

What if I read something on facebook and then share it verbally with someone else, is that gossip?

How can I vent in a healthy way?  Is venting ever a good choice?

How can I be real and authentic without sharing everything with everyone?

The rest of this month is going to be all about the different kinds of speaking that we do, and it’s gonna get practical.  Of course, I don’t have it all figured out, so my hope  is that this week can be a bit more interactive.  I’d love to hear from you (yes, you!).  I know you have wisdom to share.

Don't miss a day!

Don’t miss a day!

Leave a Reply

