A Life Stirred

Words to My Husband

on October 27, 2014

If you’ve been married for any amount of time, you’ve probably heard a sermon or two or twelve on Ephesians 5.  The husbands and wives part.  It’s like the go-to passage for Biblical wisdom on marriage.  And it probably should be; there’s a lot of good stuff in it.

Anyway, we’re talking about how we can tame our tongue particularly with regards to our husbands.

In a little more than a week, we'll celebrate our 6 year anniversary.  So clearly, I'm a marriage expert.  Or not.

In a little more than a week, we’ll celebrate our 6 year anniversary. So clearly, I’m a marriage expert. Or not.

…Let the wife see that she respects her husband.  –Ephesians 5:33b

Respect.

I can show respect through my words.

I’m not an expert in this.  I’ve just been learning as I go (and reading books and listening to sermons that will give me insight into the mystery that is my husband).  I have learned that my words can do damage…and fast.  Even if I don’t meant them to.

I am learning how to speak more respectfully to Ben.  I learning to hear my words the way he hears them.  I’m also learning how to say something and then stop and give time to think and respond…instead of just pelting more words at him (which is my natural tendency).

If you are looking for a good book on this subject, there are a million.  However, I’ve enjoyed How to Have a New Husband by Friday by Kevin Leman.  It’s a dumb title (sorry, Mr. Leman), but a very helpful book.  [And spoiler alert:  Having a new husband is actually more about you changing (sorry)…so if you wanted a book that would magically change your husband this isn’t it, but it’s fairly insightful.  And I did get flowers from Ben after a few days of applying some of the principles…so there’s that.]

Don't miss a day!

Don’t miss a day!

Leave a Reply

