A Life Stirred

Words to our Kids

on October 28, 2014

I’ve talked before about my words to my girls.  I want to speak life to them.  I want to encourage them and build them up.  I have seen the impact of my words, even at their young age.

Both girls are language-sponges right now.  They absorb everything I say.  Which has both its positives and negatives.

On the one hand, Joanna can sing the doxology (“Praise God from whom all blessings flow…”), which is pretty much the cutest thing in the world.

On the other hand, I’ve also come to realize that I say “actually” a lot.  I didn’t know this until my two year old started saying things like, “Actually, I’m going to do that later.”  It’s funny, but it makes me wonder what else I say without realizing it.  Gulp.

There’s nothing quite like having your kid repeat your own words right back at you.  And beyond what I say in the course of the day, the way I say things can have a huge impact on them.

A harsh “no” can cause them to burst into tears.  [This isn’t a bad thing.  I want them to have soft hearts that are quick to repent.  But it’s strange to see one word, spoken firmly, cause tears.]

A compliment or praise can bring a sparkle to their eyes.

This picture is the perfect reminder of the impact of my words.  Right before I took the picture, I said, “Joanna, you are a beautiful princess.”

jo

She lit up.

Our words to our children really do matter.  Even when they’re young.  So go speak some life to your kiddos today!

Don't miss a day!

Don’t miss a day!

 

Leave a Reply

