A Life Stirred

Words to myself

on October 30, 2014

Have you ever thought about the words you say to yourself?  I’m not talking about out-loud words where we chant our grocery shopping list to ourselves….but the words we say to ourselves in our minds.

I don’t know about you, but I’m not very kind to myself.

I want my words to my friends to be edifying.  I want to build others up and encourage them.  I want to show grace and love.

And yet…I rarely give myself that kind of grace.  I am very critical and discouraging and a little bit nasty.  Honestly, if I spoke to others the way I speak to myself, I wouldn’t have many friends.

I wish I had an easy list of suggestions for how to “fix” this problem.  I don’t.  (If you do, I’ll take any suggestions now!)

In Breaking Free (a Bible study by Beth Moore), she addresses learning how to take our thoughts captive.  We all have errant thoughts–that are based on lies we believe or a doubt we have.  We have to choose to take those thoughts captive to obey Christ.  We have to put truth on the lies and choose to believe what God says over what we say.

We destroy arguments and every lofty opinion raised against the knowledge of God,

and take every thought captive to obey Christ.

–2 Corinthians 10:5

For me, it is an ongoing process, but I am learning.  And I believe I’m even making progress (because at least I can recognize that there’s a problem with my thought-words).  So, bring on the freedom!

Don't miss a day!

Don’t miss a day!

Leave a Reply

