A Life Stirred

Christmas and Control

on December 25, 2014

Well, then.  Christmas.  It’s here.  It’s over.

Somehow I’m always surprised how quickly Christmas is here and then gone.  It shouldn’t surprise me.  We spend a 24 days (or more) preparing and getting excited for Christmas.  And then, like any other day of the year, it’s over in 24 hours.

To me, Christmas is really a balance of eagerly anticipating the birth of our Savior and enjoying the season and all the festivities associated with it AND keeping my expectations in check.

Not an easy task, really.  But I thought I was nailing it this year.  I purposefully kept things simple and avoided over-commitment.  We did a nightly Advent reading as a family.  It was all going well.

And then about a week before Christmas, I looked at the 10 day weather forecast.  Christmas day was going to be 45° and rainy.

I hate to even admit this…but that forecast bothered me for days.

For crying out loud, we’ve had snow on the ground since November 1st!!  If anyone deserves a white Christmas, we do!  Rain?!?!  45°?!  That’s ridiculous!

A few days later (after a lot of pouting weather in my head…and out loud a little), I realized that the forecast was shining a spotlight on my need for control.  I was mad because I couldn’t control the weather.  How silly is that!

But then I started to realize that the weather wasn’t the only thing I was trying to control.  In my head, I had a list of things I wanted to be just-so before Christmas Day.  And those things (or the absence of them) determined my joy (or lack of it).

I didn’t really figure out how to release my desire for control on everything.  This longing to control my environment runs deep and extends to more than just Christmas.  Yet, I think I made progress this week…by recognizing the problem (that’s the first step, right?).

In any case, it was 45° and rainy today, and it didn’t ruin my day.  So there’s that.

Merry Christmas!

Merry Christmas!

PS I know this isn’t the kind of post you’d expect on Christmas day, but it’s been on my mind lately.  And I wondered if I’m the only one to struggle with Christmas Control.  I suspect that I’m not…

Leave a Reply

