A Life Stirred

2014 in Review

on December 30, 2014

So, it’s almost 2015.  Doesn’t that sound surreal?

Where’s my flying car?

Maybe it’s because I love to plan.  Or because I love lists.  But a new year stirs in me a level of excitement and anticipation that I just can’t explain.

Eeeeeee!

Really, I think it’s because a new year feels so fresh.  All those I-wish-I-had’s of 2014 can be fulfilled in 2015.  I really can lose weight/mature spiritually/be more hospitable/exercise more/develop deep friendships/floss daily/pray more…

But the truth is:  I can’t do all those things.  Not in my own strength.  I will always fall short of my goals.  UNLESS it is God who gives me the goals and the ability to pursue them.

So, let’s talk about 2014 for a minute, shall we?  I didn’t make any resolutions or goals, but I did have a word of the year: listen.  Obviously, I didn’t know how it would play out, but I felt that the Lord gave me that word as a focus for the year.

Last January, I had all kinds of ideas about what that word would mean in the coming year.  But as only God can do, He took that word (and all my ideas) and did something even better!  He showed me the joy that comes when I listen to and obey His voice.

In May, God asked me to let go of facebook.  I really didn’t want to; it just seemed too hard, too lonely, too weird.  But I did it.  And it was seriously one of the best decisions I made in 2014!  Facebook had a hold on me that I didn’t quite realize until I shut it off.  That’s not to say it’s been all easy and sunshine and rainbows.  (But I’ll write more about that later.  Lucky you.)

Then in August, God showed me that I had been a gossiper.  I had been far too casual with my words for far too long.  God spoke to me about my sin, and I listened and allowed Him to work in my heart.  And by His grace, He transformed me, and I am not the same!  I even spent a whole month writing about Taming my Tongue, which actually had more to do with listening that I realized!

So, as I look at the fresh start of a new year, I can’t wait to see how 2015 unfolds.  Sure, I will probably make a few lists and pick a word for the year and write some goals.  But really, I want 2015 to be year marked by more listening.  Listening and obeying God.  Because that is always worth it!

Yes!

Leave a Reply

