A Life Stirred

2015: A Year Without a Word

on January 2, 2015

Last year, I had a word.

So naturally, I wanted a word this year too!  In fact, I’ve been mulling it over for a few weeks now.  And I’ve got nothing.  Nada.  Zilch.

Ok, so that’s not totally true.  I think I have a theme.  A Theme of the Year.  That’s better than one measly, old word anyway, right?

The concept of identity and finding my identity in Christ, contentedness, being me, and telling/living my story has been everywhere lately.  And to me that means, “LISTEN UP, CARLEY!  YOU NEED TO LEARN THIS!!”  (Sometimes I need the Holy Spirit to skip the “still, small voice” step and go straight to attention-grabbing step.)

I believe (and pray) that 2015 will be year of learning who I am.  Specifically, learning who I am in Christ and letting Him to define me, as opposed to all the other things I let define me (motherhood, wife, friend, good at <insert talent here>, etc).  As I allow who I am in Christ to permeate my soul, I pray that I will shake off some of my old (and clingy) insecurities and be content in who I am and how God wired me.

It’s a big theme.  I may need more than a year.  But I’m excited to see how God uses this desire of my heart (to find my identity in Him) to shape me this year!

2 responses to “2015: A Year Without a Word

  1. Renee says:

    That sounds like a great plan for this year!!! Although if I had to pinpoint a word I would say “identity”. I get the feeling that it takes several seasons to fully find your identity in Christ. But your pretty amazing so I’m sure there will be fruit by the end of 2015 for you! There’s a word that keeps coming to me but I’ve been ignoring (disobeying?) it.

    • Carley Morse says:

      You’re right! “Identity” is the word…I felt like it didn’t quite encompass everything I wanted, but it’s as close as any one word will get. Thanks for pointing it out. 🙂

Leave a Reply

