A Life Stirred

Ten on Ten: The Birthday Edition

on January 10, 2015

It’s my birthday!  Yahoo!

I’m 31.  Yahoo….?

It’s funny.  Last year, I turned 30…which is exciting and noteworthy.  It’s the kind of birthday that you can invite friends over and throw yourself a birthday party.  But then, turning 31, not as exciting.  Not as noteworthy.  I didn’t feel like I could throw myself a party either.

Anyway, today’s ten on ten is actually only 8 on ten.  And when you hear about my day, you’ll be glad I stopped taking pictures.

So, I kicked off my birthday with a bit of an intestinal bug, and I got to be awake from 2 am to 5 am.  Not fun.  Granted, I got to wish myself a “Happy Birthday” at my actual birth time (3:10 am).  Not something I want to repeat next year.  Thankyouverymuch.

Ben (awesome husband that he is) let me sleep in, so I started ten on ten late.  Whatever.  It’s my birthday.  I can do what I want.

They turn on the space heater together every day.  Melt my heart.

They turn on the space heater together every day. Melt my heart.

Birthday lunch--homemade chicken nuggets and fries (...and peas too).  So glad I was feeling better.  Yum!

Birthday lunch–homemade chicken nuggets and fries (…and peas too). So glad I was feeling better. Yum!

Tim's and Staples...a happy combo.

For my birthday, I requested time alone.  Tim’s and Staples…a happy combo.

A dressing room selfie?  Yes, ma'am.  I still can't decide how I felt about that stripey shirt.  It was either flattering or it made me look pregnant.  I couldn't decide...so I passed.

You’re never too old for a dressing room selfie, right? I still can’t decide how I feel about that stripey shirt. It was either flattering or it made me look pregnant. I couldn’t decide…so I passed.

Packing for a family outing to the pool...which didn't happen thanks to the intestinal bug making it's rounds to a few other family members).

Packing for a family outing to the pool.  Spoiler alert:  We didn’t go (thanks a lot, intestinal bug!).

Ben's a comedian.  31 candles and a fire hazard.  Ooof.

31 candles are a fire hazard. Ooof.

Claire and I headed into town for fluids. As you can see, she prefers not to wear shoes and socks in the car. Silly kid.

Picnic dinner and a movie.  An attempt to salvage the rest of the day.

Picnic dinner (for those who felt like eating) and a movie. An attempt to salvage the rest of the day.

And let’s just say, things went downhill from there, and I just stopped taking pictures.  You’re welcome.

Intestinal Bug: 3, Morses :1  (Claire is still holding strong…you go girl!)

Despite the rough beginning and ending to my day, I actually had a very nice birthday.  I can’t wait to see what this next year has in store!

ten on ten button

One response to “Ten on Ten: The Birthday Edition

  1. kari says:

    Poking my head in via Ten on Ten. Happy Birthday! What a wonderful image of your cake!

Leave a Reply

