A Life Stirred

Almost 3

on January 28, 2015

Joanna is almost 3.  It’s an awesome age.

And let’s get the obvious out of the way:  I CANNOT believe she’s going to be 3!!  She was *just* a baby.

Seriously.  Wasn't that yesterday?

Seriously. Wasn’t that yesterday?

So, almost 3.  Most of the time, I am really loving this age!  I love how she talks and interacts.  I love seeing her personality and language develop.  Sometimes she drives me a little crazy!!

Anyway, almost 3 looks like…

  • …a lot of “Whys?”
    • I’m sorry, Joanna, but I don’t know the internal motivations of every. single. person and thing we see.  The worst is the mouse from If you Give a Mouse a Cookie.  I have no idea why he does what he does.  No idea.
Why?  Why?  Why?!

Why? Why? Why?!

  • …a lot of “What will we do after…?”
    • This habit is simultaneously annoying and endearing.  I love schedules too, little girl.  Someday I’ll teach you about calendars and to do lists, and you will be a happy kid.
She just likes having a plan.

She just likes having a plan.

  • …a lot of random whining and crying.
    • I could do without that.  Use your words, kiddo.  Use your words.
Usually the crabbiness is not this cute.

Usually it’s not this cute.

  • …a lot of playing.
    • It is your job right now, after all.  You and sissy play dress-up and baby dolls and kitchen and blocks and games and Play-Doh.  It’s amazing to see you get creative with your play.
Best buddies...all four of them.

Four best buddies.

There are lots of things I love about this age (and a number of things I don’t love as much), and I’m sure I’ll write more about Joanna in 11 days when she’s actually 3.  But for now I just want to enjoy my almost 3 year old.

Even when she seems so old…

So big.

Big Kid Jo.

And even when she still seems like a baby…

Always my baby....

Always my baby….

(Also, you’d better believe I soaked up the “Let’s pretend I’m a baby” game.  Why, of course, Joanna, I’d love to snuggle you on the couch like you’re a itty-bitty baby!)

Leave a Reply

