A Life Stirred

The Facebook Weight

on February 23, 2015

A month ago, I officially deleted Facebook.

Scratch that.  Six weeks, I told Facebook I wanted to delete my account.  Two weeks ago, they finally did it.

[Did you know that there’s a “waiting period” before Facebook will really delete your account?  14 days!  That seeemed excessive to me.]

Anyway, all that to say, my Facebook account is official gone.  (Well, I did download all my Facebook information onto my computer…ten years worth of posts and pictures.  Priceless.)

And I really don’t miss it.

…let us also lay aside every weight, and sin which clings so closely, and let us run with endurance the race that is set before us, looking to Jesus, the founder and perfecter of our faith …

Hebrews 12:1-2

I heard a sermon recently that pointed out that there is a difference between weights and sins.  Weights may be morally neutral things that rob our affection for the Lord.  They will distract from the race set before us.

For me, Facebook was a weight.  It isn’t intrinsically bad, and it isn’t a sin to use Facebook.  In fact, a year ago, I would have said that Facebook was a great way to connect with long-distance friends and family, keep up with others, and encourage others in their day-to-day lives.

And it is.

But Facebook can also be a weight that clings so closely.  Its effect on my heart and life was subtle!  Sometimes it can even be hard to identify its grip until you are out from under it.

For example, I struggle with comparison in general.  Even without Facebook, I still struggle.  BUT I never fully realized how much Facebook fed into this struggle.   I continue to be amazed at the levels of freedom I’m experiencing without Facebook.  I have so much more joy when I don’t have to fight the constant tug of comparison.

Now, don’t read this wrong.  I am NOT saying that everyone needs to leave Facebook.  I know that for many, Facebook is a place to spread the Kingdom of God and to encourage one another.  And that’s awesome!  We need more people to use social media as a platform to spread the gospel.

However, I do believe we all need to be careful about our social media use.  It can be time-consuming and distracting and it can cling so closely (as Hebrews 12:1-2 says).

So, I encourage you to examine your heart.  Do you feel a pull to set aside Facebook (even if just for a season)?  Do you feel a desire to use Facebook as a platform for encouragement and glorifying God?  Or do you have another weight in your life (a morally neutral thing that robs your affection for the Lord) that you need to lay aside?

 

Leave a Reply

