A Life Stirred

The Baby is TWO!

on June 27, 2015

So, usually, I start these kinds of birthday posts with a big long rant about how fast time goes and how crazy it is that my baby is another year older.

But the crazy thing about Claire turning two is that I can’t believe she’s not already two!  It’s probably because she has a big sister and spends most of her time trying to be big.  I guess it’s working.

How do I describe Claire at two?  I mean, other than just plain awesome.  Because she is.

She is determined…and has a bit of a one-track mind (which means she will repeat the same thing over and over and over until she is absolutely sure she’s being understood).

She hauled this stick out of the woods by herself.

She hauled this stick out of the woods by herself.

She love love LOVES her big sister.  After naptime, her first question is always, “Nana sleeping?”

At the maple syrup shack this winter

At the maple syrup shack this winter

She is the most polite toddler I have ever met.  She will consistently say “excuse me” and “thank you” INDEPENDENTLY!  It makes my heart happy every time.

She loves the hiking backpack, baby dolls, her bear, books, Georgie, and horseys (though just in theory, I think a real one would freak her out).

Such a good mama!

Such a good mama!

She will repeat anything you ask her to…which is really a lot of fun.  My favorite phrases are “I got it,” “I did it!,” “Eeeeoooo inky poo.” (Pee-yew stinky poo…which I say to her every time I change her diaper.)

Claire, you are two!  And that just seems so big and so little all at the same time.  You are a delight and a joy to have in our family.  I can’t wait to see what the next years bring!

Claire, one week old.

Claire, one week old.

Claire, almost-two.

Claire, almost-two.

PS So, we put her in a big girl bed.  And she wouldn’t stay in.  But it was the sweetest disobedience I’ve ever seen.  She would go to the top of the stairs, stand there until we noticed her, and then say, “Obey?”  We finally just switched her back into a crib.  I just don’t think she was quite ready for the responsibility of a big girl bed.  But I’m ok with that…I’ll keep my baby for a few more months.

2 responses to “The Baby is TWO!

  1. Erin says:

    Happy Birthday Claire!

    Maybe it’s a number 2 kid thing but Abby is polite too, always saying thank you without being prompted.

Leave a Reply

